CD Talkin' Verve: Roots of Acid Jazz [Various Artists] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 6787094),
back to browsing

Talkin' Verve: Roots of Acid Jazz [Various Artists] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Bumpin' - Wes Montgomery
    2. Cantaloupe Island - Donald Byrd
    3. Chang, Chang, Chang - Yusef Lateef
    4. Cool - Oliver Nelson
    5. Bags and Strings - Milt Jackson
    6. Cat, The - Jimmy Smith
    7. Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? - Little Richie Varola
    8. Fall Out - Rahsaan Roland Kirk
    9. Nina's Dance - Tony Scott
    10. Blues Greasy - Sonny Stitt
    11. James and Wes - Jimmy Smith/Wes Montgomery
    12. Moanin' - Cal Tjader
    13. Boogaloo in Room 802 - Willie Bobo
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Manteca - Dizzy Gillespie
    2. Mambocito Mio - Illinois Jacquet
    3. Love - Stan Getz
    4. Song of the Yellow River - Cal Tjader
    5. Descarga del Bobo, La - Willie Bobo
    6. Latin Slide - La Clave
    7. Manha de Carnaval - Cal Tjader
    8. Crickets Sing for Anamaria - Marcos Valle
    9. Cantaloupe Woman, The - Grant Green
    10. Soul Sauce (Guachi Guaro) - Cal Tjader
    11. Yo Yo Yo - Slim Gaillard & His Internationally Famous Orchestra
    12. Samba Triste - Jackie Cain/Roy Kral/Jackie & Roy
    13. Got My Mojo Working - Jimmy Smith
    14. Devilette - Donald Byrd (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 527504

  • Credits

    Producers include Creed Taylor, Norman Granz, Esmond Edwards, Bob Morgan, Teddy Reig.
    Compilation producers: Aric Lach Morrison, Gilles Peterson, Bill Brower.
    Recorded between 1951 and 1972. Includes liner notes by Bill Brower.
    Personnel: Grant Green (guitar).
    Recording information: Carnegie Ha (05/25/1951-12/13/1972); New York, NY (05/25/1951-12/13/1972); Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (05/25/1951-12/13/1972); WOR Recording Studios, New York, NY (05/25/1951-12/13/1972).
    Kicking off Verve's series of soul jazz-focused compilations and single-artist collections, Talkin' Verve: Roots of Acid Jazz offers up a hefty sampling of some of the best groove-friendly tracks from the years 1954-1972. The first of the two discs here features combo and big-band cookers by the likes of Wes Montgomery, Jimmy Smith, Willie Bobo, Donald Byrd, and Cal Tjader. Latin-boogaloo rhythms and Smith's organ-soul innovations inform a lot of the material, with the pop and blues elements in jazz getting a good dose of the spotlight. Other's contributing to the first disc's considerable store of quality material include Sonny Stitt, Oliver Nelson, Roland Kirk, and Milt Jackson. On disc two, the emphasis is on the fertile range of styles from the Latin side of `60s jazz (with a `50s and `70s track included as well). Highlights come courtesy of Dizzy Gillespie, Stan Getz, Tjader, and Grant Green. One of the best and most original modern jazz compilations available. ~ Stephen Cook

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for