CD Terra Firma [Ken Walker] (CD 912409),
back to browsing

Terra Firma [Ken Walker]

  • 1. Amsterdam After Dark
    2. Velocity
    3. Ms. P & P
    4. Blackberry Winter
    5. Terra Firma
    6. Highlife
    7. Song for M
    8. Just One of Those Things
    9. Mi Nena
    10. Blues for P.K.
    11. Boogie Woogie Bossa Nova
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 80024

  • Credits
    ProducerKen Walker; John McNeil

    Ken Walker: Ken Walker (double bass); Dave Corbus (guitar); Al Hood (trumpet, flugelhorn); Jeff Jenkins (piano); Paul Romaine (drums).
    Terra Firma features six talented modern mainstream players who are based in Denver. Each of these musicians deserves to be better-known but living in Denver does not help their name recognition. Trumpeter Al Hood is excellent on his ballad feature "Blackberry Winter," pianist Jeff Jenkins takes consistently rewarding solos (recalling McCoy Tyner on "Amsterdam After Dark") and Pete Sommer's muscular tenor solos add fire to the music. The repertoire performed by bassist Ken Walker's sextet includes songs by George Coleman, Eddie Harris and Mel Martin along with five Ken Walker originals, many of which give the set a mid-'60s hard bop feel. The music avoids being predictable due to some inventive arrangements including a multi-tempo "Just One of Those Things" and the variety of grooves and tempos keeps the proceedings consistently stimulating. Fans of modern straight-ahead jazz will enjoy this effort by these lesser-known but world-class musicians. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $13.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for