CD The 80th Birthday Concert (CD 911643),
back to browsing

The 80th Birthday Concert

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Listen to the Silence
    2. Announcement
    3. Electronic Sonata For Souls Loved by Nature
    4. Announcements
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Organic Life on Earth Begins
    2. Paleolithic Game, The
    3. Consciousness
    4. Surival Game, The
    5. Human Sensing of Unity With Great Nature, The
    6. African Empires
    7. Cartesian Man
    8. Mega-Minimalist Age, The
    9. Future?, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2005

  • Credits
    ProducerAlice Norbury Russell
    EngineerAndy Cotton

    George Russell: Dave Bargeron (trombone); Richie Morales (drums, cymbals).
    George Russell has been a highly original arranger-composer in creative music for nearly 60 years, writing and performing music that is in its own world, with its own rules, logic, and genius. Although he has made some great recordings along the way, there have also been stretches when he was not that prolifically documented. The 80th Birthday Concert, a two-CD set, stands as one of his finest recordings and sums up much of his career. Conducting his 15-piece Living Time Orchestra, Russell performs new and innovative versions of "Electronic Sonata for Souls Loved by Nature" and the multi-part "African Game," which is over 40 minutes long and ends quite wildly. In addition the orchestra performs the briefer "Listen to the Silence," "It's About Time," and a reworking of the Miles Davis trumpet solo from "So What." While many soloists are heard from (most notably trumpeter Palle Mikkelborg, tenor saxophonist Andy Sheppard, and trombonist Dave Bargeron), it is the sound of the passionate ensembles, the very original writing, and the spirit of the musicians and the ageless Russell that makes this a highly recommended set. ~ Scott Yanow

  • Critic Reviews
    The Wire (p.67) - "No accident that Russell invokes nature so often. His interest lies in ongoing processes rather than packaged eschatology or genre....It's an ideal place to start."
    JazzTimes (p.94) - "[S]trong solos from tenor saxophonist Andy Sheppard, guitarist Mike Walker and electrified trumpeter Palle Mikkelborg make these pieces worthwhile."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.23
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for