CD The Amazing New Electronic Pop Sound of Jean Jacques Perrey (CD 168654),
back to browsing

The Amazing New Electronic Pop Sound of Jean Jacques Perrey

  • 1. Mary France
    2. Little Ships, The
    3. Island in Space
    4. Mexican Cactus, The
    5. Porcupine Rock
    6. Little Girl from Mars, The
    7. Mister James Bond
    8. Frre Jean Jacques
    9. Brazilian Flower
    10. In the Heart of a Rose
    11. Minuet of the Robots, The
    12. Four, Three, Two, One
    13. Gypsy in Rio
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 79286

  • Credits
    EngineerEd Friedner

    Composers: Eileen Davies; Stanley Krell; Gary Carol; Harry Breuer; Andy Badale; Pat Prilly; Jean-Jacques Perrey.
    Liner Note Author: Jean-Jacques Perrey.
    "What I have tried to do," wrote Perrey in the liner notes to this album, "is to bring the electronic sonorities to popular music." This he accomplished via the ondioline, Moog, magnetic tapes, electronic instruments, and other gizmos. He also wrote or co-wrote most of the material on this disc, which sounds like nothing so much as late-'60s instrumental "mood" music albums as refracted through a slightly more ambitious, electronic lens. It's really not something you can put on again and again, but it's kind of fun nonetheless. The arrangements have a kind of desperately trendy go-go-type charm, borrowing occasionally from familiar folk and pop melodies like "Frere Jacques" and "Georgy Girl." ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Label: Vanguard 79286
  • Distributor: Welk
  • Analog/Digital: n/a
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 015707928625
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.01
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for