CD The Anthology [Return to Forever] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 1166095),
back to browsing

The Anthology [Return to Forever] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy
    2. After the Cosmic Rain
    3. Captain Seor Mouse
    4. Theme to the Mothership
    5. Space Circus, Pts. 1-2
    6. Game Maker, The
    7. Vulcan Worlds
    8. Shadow of Lo, The
    9. Beyond the Seventh Galaxy
    10. Song to the Pharaoh Kings
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Dayride
    2. Sofistifunk
    3. No Mystery
    4. Celebration Suite, Pts. 1-2
    5. Medieval Overture
    6. Sorceress
    7. Romantic Warrior, The
    8. Majestic Dance
    9. Magician, The
    10. Duel of the Jester & the Tyrant, Pts. 1-2
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 30847

  • Credits
    ProducerChick Corea; Al DiMeola; Lenny White; Stanley Clarke
    EngineerDennis MacKay; Shelly Yakus

    Personnel: Chick Corea (vocals, piano, electric piano, Fender Rhodes piano, harpsichord, Clavinet, organ, keyboards, synthesizer, mini-Moog synthesizer, marimba, snare drum, percussion); Stanley Clarke (vocals, organ, synthesizer, acoustic bass, electric bass, hand bells, chimes); Al di Meola (guitar, acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, slide whistle, hand bells); Bill Connors (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Lenny White (marimba, drums, snare drum, congas, bongos, timbales, percussion, hand bells).
    Audio Remixer: Mick Guzauski.
    Liner Note Authors: Chick Corea; Al di Meola; Lenny White; Stanley Clarke ; Bob Belden.
    Recording information: Caribou Ranch, CO (08/1973-02/1976); The Record Plant, New York, NY (08/1973-02/1976).
    Photographer: Lynn Goldsmith.
    Chick Corea's Return To Forever was one of the seminal fusion bands of the 1970s. A veteran of Miles Davis's band as well as several Latin and hard bop outfits, Corea brought all these elements to the new band, along with a sweet, optimistic lyricism. This set covers the years 1973-76 when RTF featured Corea on various keyboards, the rippling torrid bass of Stanley Clarke, the big-beat funkiness of drummer Lenny White, and a few different guitarists, of whom THE ANTHOLOGY features the dense textures of Bill Connor as well as the flamenco-inspired Al Di Meola. Whether playing a concise five-minute tune or a 15-minute suite, this combo achieved a rare balance of sophistication and immediacy, deep grooves and engrossing, outer/inner-space improvisation.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.22
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for