CD The Best Blue Note Album in the World Ever (CD 919090),
back to browsing

The Best Blue Note Album in the World Ever

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Song For My Father - Horace Silver
    2. Blue Train - John Coltrane
    3. Moanin' - Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers
    4. Blues Walk - Lou Donaldson
    5. Autumn Leaves - Miles Davis/Cannonball Adderley
    6. Sidewinder - Kenny Burrell
    7. Midnight Blue, The - Lee Morgan
    8. Watermelon Man - Herbie Hancock
    9. Amen - Donald Byrd
    10. Born to Be Blue - Grant Green/Ike Quebec
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia) - Us3
    2. Turnaround, The - Big John Patton
    3. Greasy Granny - Charlie Hunter Trio
    4. Back at the Chicken Shack - Jimmy Smith/Stanley Turrentine
    5. Soy Califa - Dexter Gordon
    6. Girl From Ipanema, The - Eliane Elias
    7. Thinkin' About Your Body - Bobby McFerrin
    8. Tupelo Honey - Cassandra Wilson
    9. At Last - Dianne Reeves/Lou Rawls
    10. Because I Love You - Richard Elliot
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 20070B

  • Credits
    ProducerFelix Cromey (Compilation)

    Includes liner notes by Michael Cuscuna.
    This is part of Virgin's Best... Ever! series.
    Lyricist: Jimi Hendrix.
    Personnel: Stanley Turrentine (tenor saxophone); Lee Morgan (trumpet).
    Liner Note Author: Michael Cuscuna.
    The Best Blue Note Album in the World Ever may boast a silly title, but it's hard to argue with what's on this double-disc sampler. Not all of the label's greatest artists are here, but everything is representative, showing how hard bop like John Coltrane's "Blue Train" and Lee Morgan's "The Sidewinder" coexisted with soul-jazz from Grant Green ("Born to Be Blue"), Jimmy Smith ("Back at the Chickenshack"), and Horace Silver ("Song for My Father"). It is true that US3's "Cantaloop" sounds distinctly out of place here and that the latter-day stuff, no matter how good it is, isn't quite as magical as the classic era, but there's no denying that The Best Blue Note Album in the World Ever provides a lot of bang for the buck. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (7/99, p.129) - 3 stars (out of 5) - "...A record which demonstrates how rock acts nick from jazz....Notably, however, this 'is' a jazz record and not Jamiroquai or Sade pretending."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.41
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for