CD The Best Smooth Jazz...Ever! [2 CD Blue Note] (CD 939193),
back to browsing

The Best Smooth Jazz...Ever! [2 CD Blue Note]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Lovely Day - Bill Withers
    2. All I See Is You - Dave Koz
    3. Don't Worry Be Happy - Bobby McFerrin
    4. More Than This - Norah Jones/Charlie Hunter Quartet/Charlie Hunter
    5. Lady Wants to Know, The - Michael Franks
    6. My Funny Valentine - Chet Baker
    7. Mystic Voyage - Ronny Jordan/Roy Ayers
    8. Last Tango - Gato Barbieri (Last Tango In Paris)
    9. Livin' Large - Euge Groove
    10. Flight-Time - Donald Byrd
    11. Expression - Joyce Cooling
    12. Latin Note - St. Germain
    1. We're in This Love Together - Al Jarreau
    2. Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia) - Gerard Presencer/Rahsaan/Us3
    3. Always There - Ronnie Laws
    4. Cellar Funk - Down to the Bone
    5. Mercy Mercy Mercy - Cannonball Adderley Quintet (live)
    6. "In" Crowd, The - Ramsey Lewis Trio
    7. Chill Factor - Richard Elliot
    8. Time After Time - Cassandra Wilson
    9. Living Inside Your Love - Earl Klugh
    10. Mas Que Nada (Say No More) - Elza Soares
    11. Medicine Man - Bobby McFerrin
    12. Sugar Craft - Medeski, Martin & Wood (Yuka Honda Remix, Yuka Honda remix)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 60392

  • Credits

    Performers include: Dave Koz, Al Jarreau, Bobby McFerrin, Casandra Wilson, Earl Klugh. Richard Elliott, Bob James, Donald Byrd, Medeski, Martin & Wood and many more.
    This incredibly light, fun, and surprisingly hip two-CD collection from Blue Note uses the term "smooth jazz" in an unexpected way. Rather than referring to the genre, "smooth" refers to the temperament and feel of these sometimes funky/sometimes poppy tracks that are selected from six decades of jazz. Dave Koz, Richard Elliot, and a couple other names could be filed in the smooth jazz section, but Adderley, Baker, and Byrd are too classic for that, and it's easy to imagine the legions of funky Medeski, Martin & Wood fans recoiling in horror over the title's Kenny G. insinuation. In actuality the disc is a whole lot of fun. Most of it is very hip fun and very little of it is wallpaper. The Bobby McFerrin, Ramsey Lewis, and Chet Baker cuts are obvious choices, but the inclusion of Charlie Hunter's smoky version of Roxy Music's "More Than This" is a very pleasant surprise and having such divergent sounds as St. Germain's "Latin Note" and Elza Soares' "Mas Que Nada" in the same collection is crafty cool. Perhaps Sauve Jazz would be a better title for this pleasing collection of refined and relaxing tunes. ~ David Jeffries

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.50
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for