CD The Best of the Concord Years [Gene Harris] (CD 106484),
back to browsing

The Best of the Concord Years [Gene Harris]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Uptown Sop
    2. Captain Bill
    3. Blues for Sam Nassi
    4. Summertime
    5. Don't Be That Way
    6. Listen Here
    7. Crme de Menthe
    8. You Are My Sunshine
    9. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
    10. Will You Still Be Mine?
    11. Black and Blue
    12. Like a Lover
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Blues for Rhonda
    2. This Little Light of Mine
    3. Take the "A" Train
    4. Sweet Georgia Brown
    5. Old Funky Gene's
    6. That's All
    7. Cotton Tail
    8. Lean on Me
    9. Down Home Blues
    10. Put It Where You Want It
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4930

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Gene Harris (piano); Curtis Stigers (vocals); Ernie Watts (alto saxophone); Scott Hamilton, Teddy Edwards, Red Holloway, Stanley Turrentine, Bob Cooper (tenor saxophone); Jon Faddis, Harry "Sweets" Edison (trumpet); Jack McDuff (organ); Ron Eschete, Frank Potenza, Herb Ellis (guitar); Luther Hughes, Ray Brown (bass); Mickey Roker, Jeff Hamilton, Harold Jones, Lewis Nash, Paul Humphrey, Paul Kriebich (drums); Gregg Field (tambourine); Cherie Buckner, Pastor Ralph E. Beechum (backgrround vocals); The Philip Morris Superband, The Gene Harris All Star Big Band.
    Producers include: Carl Jefferson, Ray Brown, Gene Harris, John Burk, Phil Edwards.
    Compilation producer: Nick Phillips.
    Recorded between 1986 & 1999. Includes liner notes by Wayne Thompson & John Burk.
    Digitally remastered by George Horn.
    Personnel: Gene Harris (piano); Curtis Stigers (vocals, background vocals); Niki Harris (vocals); Frank Potenza, Herb Ellis, Kenny Burrell, Ron Eschete (guitar); Ernie Watts (alto saxophone); Red Holloway, Scott Hamilton, Stanley Turrentine, Bob Cooper (tenor saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison, Jon Faddis (trumpet); Jack McDuff (organ); Jeff Hamilton , Lewis Nash , Mickey Roker, Paul Humphrey , Harold Jones , Paul Kreibich (drums); Gregg Field (tambourine); Pastor Ralph E. Beechum (background vocals).
    Director: Alexis Davis.
    In a musical career that spanned over 50 years, Gene Harris played on more than 80 recordings and shared the stage with such giants of jazz as Joe Williams, Stanley Turrentine, Dizzy Gillespie, Kenny Burrell, and Ray Brown. During 1985-1999, his Concord Years, Harris recorded over 25 albums and CDs. This compilation captures the much-heralded pianist in live settings and studio sessions, having the time of his life on songs most loved by his audiences. From the start on the bebop narrative of "Uptown Sop," with Stanley Turrentine doing the tenor sax honors, Ray Brown on bass, and Mickey Roker on drums, Harris takes hold and doesn't let go. His infamous rendition of "Summertime," colorized with the blues, boogie-woogie, and his infamous left-hand strides, is included for your enjoyment and this live version is one you'll surely cherish. "Crme de Menthe," "Blues for Rhonda," and "Old Funky Gene's" are also included on this great two-disc set that comes complete with 22-selective representations of his bluesy phrasings -- sets with his Philip Morris Superband, swing and stride numbers, and demonstrations of jazzed-up ragtime. The jazz world can thank its lucky stars that these gems have been preserved for posterity sake since Harris' considerable skill as a pianist has always been overshadowed due to his residence outside of the prominent jazz cities. However, the songs on this album should solidify the creative spirit of the great Gene Harris in the chronicles of jazz forever. ~ Paula Edelstein

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9,999.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for