CD The Best of the Concord Years [Ray Brown (Bass)] (CD 105377),
back to browsing

The Best of the Concord Years [Ray Brown (Bass)]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Buhaina Buhaina
    2. After You've Gone
    3. Days of Wine and Roses
    4. That's All
    5. Blues For Sam Nassi
    6. I'm Afraid the Masquerade Is Over
    7. Real Blues, The
    8. Carioca Hills
    9. Exactly Like You
    10. Georgia on My Mind
    11. Keep on Pumpin'
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Onion Roll
    2. Gumbo Hump
    3. High Heel Sneakers
    4. Put Your Little Foot Right Out
    5. Ralph's Boogie
    6. Rockin' in Rhythm
    7. Lady Be Good
    8. Blue Bossa
    9. Like Someone in Love
    10. Flintstones Theme, The
    11. Take the 'A' Train
    12. Just Friends
    13. Captain Bill
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2164

  • Credits

    Personnel: Ray Brown (bass); Bud Shank (alto saxophone); Plas Johnson, Red Holloway, Ralph Moore (tenor saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison, Blue Mitchell (trumpet); John Frigo (violin); Gene Harris, Art Hillary, Monty Alexander, Hank Jones, Jimmy Rowles, George Duke (piano); Mike Melvoin (keyboards); Herb Ellis, Laurindo Almeida, Joe Pass (guitar); Jimmy Smith, Jeff Hamilton, Mickey Roker, Jake Hannah, Shelly Manne, Gerryck King (drums).
    Producer: Carl E. Jefferson.
    Compilation producer: Nick Phillips.
    Recorded between 1974 & 1992. Includes liner notes by Phil Elwood.
    Ray Brown was in at the beginning of the Concord Jazz record label in the early '70s, and starting with Brown's Bag in 1975, he recorded a dozen albums as a leader for Concord before departing for Telarc Records in the early '90s. This two-disc compilation, with a running time of almost two hours and 20 minutes, presents 24 selections drawn from 19 Concord Jazz albums recorded between 1973 and 1993, including live performances at the Concord Jazz Festivals, recordings by Brown's trio and the L.A. 4, and a Brown duet with Jimmy Rowles, among other configurations. As a bass player, Brown only rarely solos, so one usually notices the horn players (Harry "Sweets" Edison, Red Holloway, Plas Johnson, Richie Kamuca, Blue Mitchell, Ralph Moore, and Bud Shank), the pianists (Monty Alexander, George Duke, Gene Harris, Art Hillery, and Rowles), or other frontline musicians (guitarists Laurindo Almeida, Herb Ellis, and Joe Pass, violinist John Frigo) before the rhythm section. But even when Brown isn't stepping out, he is maintaining the group's swing, along with drummers John Guerin, Jeff Hamilton, Jake Hanna, Gerryck King, Shelly Manne, Mickey Roker, and Jimmie Smith, and he also wrote a number of the tunes. Brown had done relatively few sessions as a leader in the 30 years of his career prior to his association with Concord, so, while the label owes him a lot, he also was enabled to flourish with the company in a way he had not before, and that is reflected in this well-chosen compilation. ~ William Ruhlmann

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.55
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for