CD The Classic Early Recordings in Chronological Order [Box] (CD 1057189),
back to browsing

The Classic Early Recordings in Chronological Order [Box]

    1. I Saw Stars
    2. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
    3. Dinah
    4. Tiger Rag
    5. Oh, Lady Be Good
    6. I Saw Stars
    7. Lily Belle May June
    8. Sweet Sue, Just You
    9. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
    10. Continental, The
    11. Blue Drag
    12. Swanee River
    13. Sunshine of Your Smile, The
    14. Ultrafox
    15. Avalon
    16. Smoke Rings
    17. Clouds
    18. Believe It, Beloved
    19. I've Found a New Baby
    20. St. Louis Blues
    21. Crazy Rhythm
    22. Sheik of Araby, The
    23. Chasing Shadows
    24. I've Had My Moments
    25. Some of These Days
    26. Djangology
    0. DISC 2: VOLUME TWO THE LONDON DECCAS (1938 & 1939):
    1. Honeysuckle Rose
    2. Sweet Georgia Brown
    3. Night and Day
    4. My Sweet
    5. Souvenirs
    6. Daphn
    7. Black and White
    8. Stompin' at Decca
    9. Tornerai (J'Attendrai)
    10. If I Had You
    11. It Had to Be You
    12. Nocturne
    13. Flat Foot Floogie, The
    14. Lambeth Walk
    15. Why Shouldn't I?
    16. I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
    17. Please Be Kind
    18. Louise
    19. Improvisation No. 2
    20. Undecided
    21. H.C.Q. Strut
    22. Don't Worry 'Bout Me
    23. Man I Love, The
    24. My Sweet
    25. I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
    26. Improvisation No. 2
    1. Billets Doux
    2. Swing de Paris
    3. Them There Eyes
    4. Three Little Words
    5. Appel Direct
    6. Hungaria
    7. Hungaria
    8. Jeepers Creepers
    9. Jeepers Creepers
    10. Swing '39
    11. Japanese Sandman
    12. I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
    13. I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
    14. Tea for Two
    15. Tea for Two
    16. My Melancholy Baby
    17. Time on My Hands
    18. Twelfth Year
    19. Twelfth Year
    20. My Melancholy Baby
    21. Japanese Sandman
    22. Tea for Two
    23. I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
    24. Hungaria
    1. Blue Moon
    2. Avalon
    3. What a Diff'rence a Day Made
    4. Stardust
    5. St. Louis Blues
    6. Limehouse Blues
    7. I Got Rhythm
    8. I've Found a New Baby
    9. It Was So Beautiful
    10. China Boy
    11. Moonglow
    12. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
    13. I'se A-Muggin'
    14. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
    15. Oriental Shuffle
    16. After You've Gone
    17. Are You in the Mood?
    18. Limehouse Blues
    19. Nagasaki
    20. Swing Guitars
    21. Georgia on My Mind
    22. Shine
    23. In the Still of the Night
    24. Sweet Chorus
    1. Exactly Like You
    2. Charleston
    3. You're Driving Me Crazy
    4. Tears
    5. Solitude
    6. Hot Lips
    7. Ain't Misbehavin'
    8. Rose Room
    9. Body and Soul
    10. When Day Is Done
    11. Runnin' Wild
    12. Chicago
    13. Liebestraum No. 3
    14. Miss Annabelle Lee
    15. Little Love, a Little Kiss, A
    16. Mystery Pacific
    17. In a Sentimental Mood
    18. Sheik of Araby, The
    19. Improvisation
    20. Parfum
    21. Alabamy Bound
    22. Rosetta
    23. Stardust
    24. Object of My Affection, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 901

  • Credits
    ProducerHugh Palmer (Compilation)

    Personnel includes: Django Reinhardt (guitar); Bill Coleman (vocals, trumpet); Frank "Big Boy" Goudie (tenor saxophone, trumpet, clarinet); Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone); Stephane Grappelli (violin, piano); Joseph Reinhardt, Pierre Ferret, Eugene Vees (guitar); Luis Vola (acoustic bass).
    Recorded between 1934-1939. Includes liner notes by Ted Kendall & Stan Britt.
    Digitally remastered by Ted Kendall.
    This budget five-disc box collects Reinhardt's first 124 recordings between 1934-1939. Curiously enough, despite the title, these sides aren't chronological, a fact that engineer Ted Kendall admits in the liner notes. Rather, while each disc's featured sessions are presented mostly chronologically, the discs themselves are rather awkwardly sequenced, with different discs covering different years in a seemingly random order. That doesn't really detract from the set's appeal, however, as this music is terrific no matter how it's presented. If there is a flaw, it's that the remastering isn't nearly as superb as the fawning front-cover quotation would lead one to believe. In fact, some of the better CD issues (particularly ASV/Living Era's Quintette du Hot Club de France) have sound quality that is nearly, if not equally, good. To his credit, however, Kendall admits that he has attempted no "enhancement" of the sound, but has instead concentrated on clearing away much of the audio rubble. His work is, in fact, generally excellent -- especially on the later sides, many of which are virtually devoid of hiss. And much care has been taken to present this music in the best possible light -- the scattered liner notes are enthusiastically written and there are some real treasures unearthed along the way, from unissued second takes to tracks that have been issued for the first time at their correct pitch. All in all, Kendall deserves kudos for his meticulous attention to detail, and the super-low price is a Reinhardt fan's dream. ~ Jim Smith

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $21.81
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for