CD The Complete Prestige Recordings [Box] (CD 190662),
back to browsing

The Complete Prestige Recordings [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Elysee
    2. Opus V
    3. Hilo
    4. Fox Hunt
    5. Morpheus
    6. Down
    7. Blue Room - (take 1)
    8. Whispering
    9. I Know
    10. Conception
    11. Out of the Blue
    12. Denial
    13. Bluing
    14. Dig
    15. My Old Flame
    16. It's Only a Paper Moon
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Time on My Hands
    2. Mambo Bounce
    3. This Love of Mine
    4. Shadrack
    5. On a Slow Boat to China
    6. With a Song in My Heart
    7. Scoops
    8. Newk's Fadeaway
    9. Compulsion
    10. Serpent's Tooth, The - (take 1)
    11. Serpent's Tooth, The - (take 2)
    12. 'Round About Midnight
    13. In a Sentimental Mood
    14. Stopper, The
    15. Almost Like Being in Love
    16. No Moe
    17. Think of One - (take 1)
    18. Think of One - (take 2)
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Let's Call This
    2. Friday the 13th
    3. Soft Shoe
    4. Confab in Tempo
    5. I'll Take Romance
    6. Airegin
    7. Oleo
    8. But Not For Me - (take 1)
    9. But Not For Me - (take 2)
    10. Doxy
    11. Movin' Out
    12. Swingin' For Bumsy
    13. Silk 'N' Satin
    14. Solid
    0. DISC 4:
    1. I Want to Be Happy
    2. Way You Look Tonight, The
    3. More Than You Know
    4. There's No Business Like Show Business
    5. Paradox
    6. Raincheck
    7. There Are Such Things
    8. It's All Right With Me
    9. In Your Own Sweet Way
    10. No Line
    11. Vierd Blues
    0. DISC 5:
    1. I Feel a Song Coming On
    2. Pent-up House
    3. Valse Hot
    4. Kiss and Run
    5. Count Your Blessings
    6. My Reverie
    7. Most Beautiful Girl in the World, The
    8. Paul's Pal
    9. When Your Lover Has Gone
    10. Tenor Madness
    0. DISC 6:
    1. You Don't Know What Love Is
    2. St. Thomas
    3. Strode Rode
    4. Blue 7
    5. Moritat
    6. I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face
    7. Kids Know
    8. House I Live In, The
    0. DISC 7:
    1. I Remember You (I)
    2. My Melancholy Baby (II)
    3. Old Folks (III)
    4. They Can't Take That Away From Me (IV)
    5. Just Friends (V)
    6. My Little Suede Shoes (VI)
    7. Star Eyes (VII)
    8. B. Swift
    9. My Ideal
    10. Sonny Boy
    11. Two Different Worlds
    12. Ee-Ah
    13. B. Quick
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4407

  • Credits

    This 7-disc compilation features 90 selections of Sonny Rollins recordings for Prestige from 1949 to 1957. It contains the only recording Sonny Rollins made with John Coltrane. Also included is a booklet with photos and a discography.
    Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Earl Coleman (vocals); Jackie McLean (alto saxophone); Clifford Brown, Kenny Dorham (trumpet); Julius Watkins (French horn); Bennie Green, J.J. Johnson (trombone); Walter Bishop, Ray Bryant, Kenny Drew, Tommy Flanagan, Elmo Hope, Wade Legge, John Lewis, Richie Powell, Horace Silver (piano); Paul Chambers, Leonard Gaskin, Percy Heath, George Morrow, Tommy Potter, Doug Watkins (bass); Kenny Clarke, Roy Haynes, Philly Joe Jones, Willie Jones, Art Taylor (drums).
    Producers: Bob Weinstock, Ira Gitler.
    Compilation producer: Orrin Keepnews.
    Engineers include: Harry Smith, Tom Dowd, Rudy Van Gelder.
    Recorded at Apex Studios, New York, New York between May 26, 1949 and December 17, 1951; WOR Studios, New York, New York between January 30 and November 13, 1953; Beltone Studios, New York, New York on January 20, 1954; Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey between June 29, 1954 and December 6, 1956. Includes liner notes by Bob Blumenthal and Charles Blancq.
    Sonny Rollins is justly a legend of jazz. He's played with all the giants of the modern era--Thelonious Monk, Clifford Brown, Max Roach, Miles Davis--as well as establishing himself as one of the essential voices of the tenor saxophone in the 1950s and 1960s. Rollins assured his status in the jazz pantheon with his rich, steely, almost metallic-sounding tone (one that does not sacrifice warmth in the slightest), the asymmetrical construction of his phrasing and his incredible technique. His tunes have become standards: "Airegin," "Pent-Up House," "Oleo," "St. Thomas."
    Rollins influenced John Coltrane, and in the first half of the '60s he had a group with some of the prime movers of the jazz avant garde (namely, Don Cherry and Jimmy Garrison), as well as doing the soundtrack for the Michael Caine film "Alfie." In the years 1949-1956, he recorded for Prestige, as both sideman and leader. This 7-CD set collects all Rollins from his formative years to the pivotal SAXOPHONE COLOSSUS album, with a total of approximately 490 minutes of music. This collection is not only classic Rollins and great jazz, but also a superb "time capsule" of a vital time in America's musical development.

  • Critic Reviews
    Down Beat (12/92, p.45) - 5 Stars - Excellent - " hear the elements of his classic style fall into place...By July 1951 he was already starting to sound like Sonny Rollins, the master of rhythmic assurance, boisterous energy, tension-building rests, and harshly beautiful tone...By 1956 his sound had become downright voluptuous..."
    Musician (10/92, p.108) - " can begin to apprehend both Rollins' incomparable talent and the daunting standards he has always posed for himself, and why to this day the greatest living improviser remains insatiable and unsatisfied--still a work in progress, and in a class by himself..."
    Audio Magazine (1/93, p.155) - "...pick any of the 90 cuts, and there it is--that silk-like, relentless, muscular, and melodic sound..."
    Stereophile (12/92, pp.259-261) - "...he was an original, a bebop player with a difference, fiery and fluent, but also witty, allusive, and orderly...many of his best solos alternate between tight, tartly stated phrases and billowing flights of fancy..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $89.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for