CD The Complete Verve Master Takes [Box] (CD 294565),
back to browsing

The Complete Verve Master Takes [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Bird, The
    2. Cardboard
    3. Visa
    4. Segment
    5. Passport
    6. Passport - (based on "I Got Rhythm")
    7. Just Friends
    8. Everything Happens to Me
    9. April in Paris
    10. Summertime
    11. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
    12. If I Should Lose You
    13. Star Eyes
    14. Blues (Fast)
    15. I'm in the Mood For Love
    16. Bloomdido
    17. Oscar For Treadwell, An
    18. Mohawk
    19. My Melancholy Baby
    20. Leap Frog
    21. Relaxin' With Lee
    22. Dancing in the Dark
    23. Out of Nowhere
    24. Laura
    0. DISC 2:
    1. East of the Sun (And West of the Moon)
    2. They Can't Take That Away From Me
    3. Easy to Love
    4. I'm in the Mood For Love
    5. I'll Remember April
    6. Au Privave
    7. She Rote
    8. K.C. Blues
    9. Star Eyes
    10. My Little Suede Shoes
    11. Un Poquito de Tu Amor
    12. Tico-Tico
    13. Fiesta
    14. Why Do I Love You?
    15. Blues For Alice
    16. Si Si
    17. Swedish Schnapps
    18. Back Home Blues
    19. Loverman
    20. Temptation
    21. Lover
    22. Autumn in New York
    23. Stella by Starlight
    24. Mama Inez
    25. La Cucuracha
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Estrellita
    2. Begin the Beguine
    3. La Paloma
    4. Night and Day
    5. Almost Like Being in Love
    6. I Can't Get Started
    7. What Is This Thing Called Love
    8. Song Is You, The
    9. Laird Baird
    10. Kim
    11. Cosmic Rays
    12. In the Still of the Night
    13. Old Folks
    14. If I Love Again
    15. Chi-Chi
    16. I Remember You
    17. Now's the Time
    18. Confirmation
    19. I Get a Kick Out of You
    20. Just One of Those Things
    21. My Heart Belongs to Daddy
    22. I've Got You Under My Skin
    23. Love For Sale
    24. I Love Paris
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 065 597

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Charlie Parker (alto saxophone); Gil Evans (arranger, conductor); Flip Phillips (tenor saxophone); Red Rodney, Miles Davis, Kenny Dorham, Dizzy Gillespie (trumpet); Tommy Turk (trombone); Mitch Miller (oboe); Oscar Peterson, Walter Bishop, Jr., Al Haig, Hank Jones, John Lewis, Thelonious Monk (piano); Billy Bauer, Freddie Green (guitar); Ray Brown, Percy Heath, Teddy Kotick, Charles Mingus, Tommy Potter, Curly Russell (bass); Arthur Taylor, Kenny Clarke, Roy Haynes, Shelly Manne, Buddy Rich, Max Roach (drums); Dave Lambert Singers.
    Producer: Norman Granz.
    Compilation producer: Bryan Koniarz.
    Recorded between 1947 & 1954. Includes liner notes by Phil Schaap.
    Along with a complete duplication of the 24 performances included in Complete Verve Masters with Strings, which was issued a year earlier than this set, there are 50 other master takes here produced by Norman Granz, ranging from a 1947 Carnegie Hall date to Parker's last in 1954. Many of the cuts come from 1950-1952. Half of the 1949 sessions are string dates; the rest come from sessions with Kenny Dorham, Tommy Turk, Al Haig, Tommy Potter, and Carlos Vidal. The most rewarding performances are a reunion of sorts with Dizzy Gillespie and Thelonious Monk, along with Curly Russell and Buddy Rich, from April 1950. These tracks are nearly seminal versions of "Mohawk," "Leapfrog," and "Relaxin' with Lee," along with fine reads of "Bloomdido," "An Oscar for Treadwell," and "My Melancholy Baby." Four other cuts come from a brief reunion with Miles Davis and Max Roach in January of 1951 with Teddy Kotick and Walter Bishop, Jr. rounding out the band, and include smokingly hot versions of "Au Privave," "She Rote," and "K.C Blues." Other musicians who appear here are Oscar Peterson, Red Rodney, Kenny Clarke, John Lewis, and Billy Bauer, among dozens of others. The package is beautiful in a decorated, painted silver metal box that the CDs fold out of, but the booklet -- like Universal's Joni Mitchell set -- falls apart because of bogus stitching. There is undoubtedly great music here, although it would have worked better as a double set to respect those who were righteous enough to buy the strings disc. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $49.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for