CD The Definitive Jimmy Smith (CD 927314),
back to browsing

The Definitive Jimmy Smith

  • 1. Champ, The - (live)
    2. Sermon, The
    3. Midnight Special
    4. Walk on the Wild Side
    5. Cat, The
    6. Got My Mojo Workin'
    7. Night Train
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 40038

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Jimmy Smith (vocals, organ); Oliver Nelson, Lalo Schifrin (arranger, conductor); Lou Donaldson, Phil Woods, Jerry Dodgion (alto saxophone); Tina Brooks, Bob Ashton, Romeo Babe Clark (tenor saxophone); George Barrow, Jerome Richardson (baritone saxophone); Lee Morgan, Joe Newman, Ernie Royal, Doc Severinsen, Joe Wilder, Bernie Glow, Thad Jones, Clark Terry, Marky Markowitz, Jimmy Maxwell, Snooky Young (trumpet); Ray Alonge, Jimmy Buffington, Earl Chapin, Bill Correa (French horn); Jimmy Cleveland, Melba Liston, Urbie Green, Britt Woodman, Tom Mitchell, Tony Studd (trombone); Bob Ashton, Jerome Richardson, Phil Woods (reeds); Wes Montygomery, Kenny Burrell (guitar); Richard Davis (bass); Art Blakey, Grady Tate (drums).
    Producers: Creed Taylor, Alfred Lion.
    Compilation producers: Richard Seidel, Michael Cuscuna, Mantis Evar, Bryan Koniarz.
    Recorded between March 1956 & September 1966. Includes liner notes by Donald Elfman.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    This is part of Blue Note Records "The Defenitive" series.
    Personnel: Jimmy Smith (vocals, organ); Kenny Burrell, Barry Galbraith, Wes Montgomery, Thornel Schwartz (guitar); Phil Woods (reeds, alto saxophone); Bob Ashton (reeds, tenor saxophone); Jerome Richardson (reeds, baritone saxophone); Danny Bank (reeds); Lou Donaldson (alto saxophone); Stanley Turrentine, Babe Clarke, Tina Brooks, Romeo Penque (tenor saxophone); George Barrow (baritone saxophone); Clark Terry, Doc Severinsen, Ernie Royal, Irwin "Marky" Markowitz, Joe Newman , Joe Wilder, Lee Morgan , Snooky Young, Bernie Glow, Thad Jones, Jimmy Maxwell (trumpet); Bill Correa, James Buffington, Earl Chapin, Ray Alonge (French horn); Jimmy Cleveland, Melba Liston, Quentin Jackson, Urbie Green, Britt Woodman (trombone); Tom Mitchell , Tony Studd (bass trombone); Don Butterfield (tuba); Donald Bailey , Grady Tate, Art Blakey, Ed Shaughnessy (drums); Phil Kraus (percussion).
    Liner Note Author: Donald Elfman.
    Recording information: Englewood Cliffs, NJ (03/27/1956-09/23/1966); Hackensack, NJ (03/27/1956-09/23/1966); New York, NY (03/27/1956-09/23/1966).
    Photographer: Francis Wolff.
    Arrangers: Lalo Schifrin ; Oliver Nelson.
    This sampler draws from organist Jimmy Smith's Blue Note and Verve recordings, picking out seven highlights from the 1956-1966 period. Included are such gems from Smith's Blue Note years as the fiery up-tempo blues "The Champ" that helped launch his career," the 20-minute all-star jam "The Sermon" (with trumpeter Lee Morgan, altoist Lou Donaldson, tenor saxophonist Tina Brooks, guitarist Kenny Burrell, and drummer Art Blakey) and "Midnight Special" with tenorman Stanley Turrentine. The four Verve selections team the organist with big bands arranged by either Oliver Nelson or Lalo Schifrin, and, although spirited, are generally of lesser interest. An exception is "Night Train," which has Smith sharing the spotlight with guitarist Wes Montgomery. Overall, this CD does give listeners an idea of what Jimmy Smith's first decade on record sounded like. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.07
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for