CD The Essential Dave Brubeck [696998699328] (CD 973702),
back to browsing

The Essential Dave Brubeck [696998699328]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Indiana - (mono)
    2. Perdido - (mono, live)
    3. Take the "A" Train - (mono, live)
    4. Le Souk - (mono, live)
    5. Audrey - (mono)
    6. Duke, The - (mono, live)
    7. In Your Own Sweet Way - (mono)
    8. Weep No More
    9. Some Day My Prince Will Come - (mono)
    10. Tangerine - (live)
    11. Brandenburg Gate
    12. Three to Get Ready
    13. Blue Rondo a la Turk
    14. There'll Be Some Changes Made
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Take Five
    2. Maria - (from "West Side Story")
    3. It's a Raggy Waltz
    4. Unsquare Dance
    5. Kathy's Waltz - (TRUE instrumental)
    6. Travelin' Blues - (live)
    7. Summer Song
    8. That Old Black Magic
    9. Bossa Nova U.S.A.
    10. Autumn in Washington Square
    11. Mr. Broadway
    12. La Paloma Azul - (live)
    13. Recuerdo - (live)
    14. Caravan
    15. Stardust
    16. Brother Can You Spare a Dime?
    17. Love For Sale - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 86993

  • Credits

    Personnel: Dave Brubeck (leader, piano); Tony Bennett, Louis Armstrong, Carmen McRae, Jimmy Rushing; (vocals); Paul Desmond, Bobby Militello (alto saxophone); Jerry Bergonzi (tenor saxophone); Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); Bill Smith (clarinet); Norman Bates, Eugene Wright, Ron Crotty, Bob Bates, Jack Six, Michael Moore (bass); Chris Brubeck (electric bass); Joe Morello, Carl Tjader, Lloyd Davis, Joe Dodge, Alan Dawson, Butch Miles, Randy Jones (drums).
    Producers include: Dave Brubeck, Chris Brubeck, George Avakian, Teo Macero, Cal Lampley.
    Compilation producers: Russell Gloyd, Didier C. Deutsch.
    Recorded between 1949 & 2002. Includes liner notes by Joel Lewis.
    This double-disc overview collects 31 tracks selected by Dave Brubeck and provides an excellent overview of his long career. While the temptation would be to concentrate on the wildly successful run of albums his quartet -- with saxophonist Paul Desmond, bassist Eugene Wright, and drummer Joe Morello -- cut for the label between 1958 and 1967, this compilation actually contains cuts from 24 albums recorded between 1949 and 2002, and draws from numerous labels, settings, concerts, and studio sessions. Certainly most of the hits are here, including "Take Five" and "Blue Rondo la Turk," but so are lesser-known favorites from the early years, including live versions of Duke Ellington tunes such as "Perdido" and "Take the 'A' Train." In addition, Brubeck has often chosen mono versions over later stereo ones and the set is all the better for it -- go no further than the spooky modal blues called "Audrey" on disc one for proof. Disc two provides much of the better-known material, including some excellent takes on show tunes such as the theme from Mr. Broadway and "Maria" from West Side Story. While it's true that Time Out provides an excellent introduction to the music of Brubeck's famed quartet all by itself, this collection is a compelling introduction for the beginner to get the vast range of Dave Brubeck's musical range and complexities as a composer, as well as his dynamite presence as a performer. ~ Thom Jurek

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (6/03, p.137) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...The main interest for Brubeck fans will be engaging with the man's personal view of his music..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.89
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for