CD The Free Zen Society (CD 983556),
back to browsing

The Free Zen Society

  • 1. Lightly Dropping
    2. Thought Free
    3. Surrender
    4. Dream Escapes
    5. Majestical
    6. Glistening
    7. Streaming Through
    8. Clocking Space
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 57177

  • Credits
    ProducerPeter Gordon
    EngineerTim Conklin

    The Free Zen Society: Zeena Parkins (harpsichord); William Parker (double bass); Matthew Shipp.
    Personnel: Zeena Parkins (harp); Matthew Shipp (piano).
    Audio Mixer: Peter Gordon .
    Recording information: Sorcerer Sound (07/22/2003/08/27/2003).
    Arranger: Peter Gordon .
    This interstellar jazz excursion features three avant titans--William Parker on double bass, Zeena Parkins on harp, and Matthew Shipp on piano--who recorded one improvisational session in the early 2000s. A record was never released until Thirsty Ear founder Peter Gordon rediscovered the session a few years after it was laid down and remixed the eight tracks into the sonic mind meld that is 2007's FREE ZEN SOCIETY. Like the title suggests, the tracks within transcend egocentric noodling in favor of the unified voice of three obviously simpatico musicians.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $14.84
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for