CD The Impulse! Albums, Vol. 3 [Box] (CD 4334886),
back to browsing

The Impulse! Albums, Vol. 3 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Chim Chim Cheree
    2. Brazilia
    3. Nature Boy
    4. Song Of Praise
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Introduction
    2. One Down, One Up
    3. Rufus (Swung His Face At Last To The Wind, Then His Neck Snapped)
    4. Le Matin De Noire
    5. Scag
    6. Call Me By My Rightful Name
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Ascension [Edition II]
    2. Ascension [Edition I]
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Father And The Son And The Holy Ghost, The
    2. Compassion
    3. Love
    4. Consequences
    5. Serenity
    0. DISC 5:
    1. Kulu Se Mama (Juno Se Mama)
    2. Vigil
    3. Welcome
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): B0012396-02

  • Credits

    The third volume documenting the work John Coltrane released on Impulse! collects albums from the mid to late-1960s. While detractors accused Coltrane of playing "anti-jazz" during this late phase, the perspective provided by both time and box sets like THE IMPULSE! ALBUMS VOL. 3 reminds the world that Coltrane was making some of his most adventurous and important music on THE JOHN COLTRANE QUARTET PLAYS, ASCENSION, NEW THING AT NEWPORT, KULU SE MAMA, and MEDITATIONS.
    When listened to chronologically, these albums represent a staggeringly rapid development. From his last effort with his classic quartet (THE JOHN COLTRANE QUARTET PLAYS) through the fiery, free improvisations on ASCENSION and the multiphonic experimentation of MEDITATIONS, Coltrane experimented with world music, free rhythm, repetition, and bracing avant garde in various settings (including big bands and duos). It's difficult to overstate the achievement of these albums, or their beauty.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $33.80
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for