CD The Impulse Years 1973-1974 [Box] (CD 143660),
back to browsing

The Impulse Years 1973-1974 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1: FORT YAWUH:
    1. Misfits (Wear It), (If the)
    2. Fort Yawuh
    3. De Drums
    4. Still Life, Still Life
    5. Misfits (Wear It), (If the) - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    0. DISC 2: FORT YAWUH:
    1. Whistle Tune - (previously unreleased)
    2. Spoken Introduction - (previously unreleased)
    3. Angles (Without Edges) - (previously unreleased)
    4. Roads Traveled, Roads Veiled
    5. De Drums (Excerpt) - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    6. Melting the Ice - (previously unreleased)
    1. Rich, The (And the Poor)
    2. Blue Streak
    3. Fullsuvollivus (Fools of All of Us)
    4. Treasure Island
    5. Introduction and Yaqui Indian Folk Song
    6. Le Mistral
    7. Angles (Without Edges)
    8. Sister Fortune
    9. Death and the Flower - (previously unreleased)
    1. Death and the Flower
    2. Prayer
    3. Great Bird
    4. Prayer - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    0. DISC 5: BACKHAND:
    1. Inflight
    2. Kuum
    3. Vapallia
    4. Backhand
    5. Victoria - (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 237

  • Credits
    ProducerEd Michel (Compilation)
    EngineerTony May

    THE IMPULSE YEARS 1973-1974 contains 9 previously unreleased tracks.
    Personnel: Keith Jarrett soprano saxophone, wooden flute, piano, drums, tambourine, percussion); Dewey Redman (tenor saxophone, clarinet, Chinese musette, tambourine, maracass); Charlie Haden (bass); Paul Motian (drums, percussion); Guiherme Franco, Danny Johnson (percussion).
    Recorded at: The Village Vanguard, New York City, February 24, 1973; Generation Sound, New York City, February 27-28, 1974 and October 9-10 1974. Includes liner notes by Chuck Berg.
    The Keith Jarrett American quartet/quintet of the 1970s was arguably his finest group, a post-bop unit featuring the pianist/leader, tenor saxophonist Dewey Redman, bassist Charlie Haden, drummer Paul Motian, and sometimes Guilherme Franco and/or Danny Johnson on percussion. A highly recommended four-CD set traced the group's final Impulse! recordings of 1975-1976. This five-CD box from 1997 reissues all of the music from the sessions that resulted in Fort Yawuh (which is expanded to two CDs), Treasure Island, Death and the Flower, and Backhand. The 29 selections (some of which also include guitarist Sam Brown) include nine previously unreleased performances and three songs that are heard for the first time in expanded unedited versions. Although not reaching as many heights as the later Impulse! box, there are many strong moments. The music performed by this underrated group (which is heard at its best on the 22-and-a-half-minute "Death and the Flower" and "Inflight") is inside/outside, hinting at the avant-garde while not shy about using melodies and rhythms. Redman in particular was heard at his best with Jarrett's classic unit. ~ Scott Yanow

  • Critic Reviews
    The Wire (3/98, p.57) - "...The highlight is undoubtedly the extra disc's worth of material from the Fort Yawuh live session....the music is gritty and garrulous and more freely experimental..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $55.12
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for