CD The Katanga Concert (CD 973324),
back to browsing

The Katanga Concert

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I Surrender, Dear - (previously unreleased)
    2. Blueberry Hill - (previously unreleased)
    3. Rockin' Chair - (previously unreleased)
    4. Stompin' at the Savoy - (previously unreleased)
    5. C'Est Si Bon - (previously unreleased)
    6. Vie en Rose, La - (previously unreleased)
    7. Undecided - (previously unreleased)
    8. Big Mama's Back in Town - (previously unreleased)
    9. That's My Desire - (previously unreleased)
    10. I Can't Give You Anything But Love - (previously unreleased)
    11. When It's Sleepy Time Down South - (previously unreleased)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. That's My Home
    2. Struttin' With Some Barbecue
    3. Jazz Me Blues
    4. Basin Street Blues
    5. Margie
    6. Mack the Knife
    7. After You've Gone
    8. What a Wonderful World
    9. My Bucket's Got a Hole in It
    10. Tiger Rag
    11. Now You Has Jazz
    12. High Society Calypso
    13. Ole Miss
    14. Perdido
    15. St. Louis Blues
    16. I Love You So
    17. When the Saints Go Marching In
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 35908

  • Credits

    This collection contains Louis Armstrong's concert in Katanga, Africa, recorded in November 1960, and a bonus disc of greatest hits.
    Personnel: Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Trummy Young (vocals, trombone); Velma Middleton (vocals); Tyree Glenn (trombone); Barney Bigard, Joe Darensbourg, Joe Muryani (clarinet); Billy Kyle, Marty Napoleon (piano); Arvell Shaw, Billy Crank, Buddy Catlett (bass); Dany Barcelona (drums).
    Recorded live in Katanga, Africa in November 1960; Nice, France on May 17, 1962; Elisabethville, Africa in November 1960. Includes liner notes by Jacques Pescheux and Josette Mayer.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    Personnel: Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Trummy Young (vocals, trombone); Joe Muranyi, Barney Bigard (clarinet); Tyree Glenn (trombone); Marty Napoleon, Billy Kyle (piano).
    Liner Note Author: Jacques Pescheux.
    Recording information: Elisabethville, Afica (11/??/1960-05/17/1962); Katanga, Africa (11/??/1960-05/17/1962); Nice, France (11/??/1960-05/17/1962).
    This previously unreleased historic recording documents the concert Louis Armstrong gave in Katanga, Africa, in 1960, as Honorary Ambassador of the U.S. State Department. A double-disc set including material selected from two different African concerts and a handful of tracks from a performance in France, THE KATANGA CONCERT reminds us that Armstrong not only wrote the book on jazz, but went about reading it to the entire world in his gruff, lovable voice.
    The track list here consists mostly of the standards, show tunes, and Armstrong originals that were the staples of his 1950s and '60s All-Stars show. Reaching back to his early OKeh catalog, Pops lets fly with such New Orleans classics as "Struttin' With Some Barbecue" and "St. Louis Blues." Latter-day signature tunes such as "That's My Desire" and "Mack the Knife" are given warm, familiar readings here, with fine playing and singing from the maestro. Armstrong's backing band is in fine form, with Velma Middleton on hand for a charming version of "That's My Desire." As can be judged from the rapturous audience response, these classic songs and performances have an effect that speaks volumes for the artistry and worldwide appeal of this jazz legend.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for