CD The Legacy of Phyllis Hyman (CD 422532),
back to browsing

The Legacy of Phyllis Hyman

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Be Careful (How You Treat My Love)
    2. Betcha by Golly, Wow - (featuring Phyllis Hyman)
    3. No One Can Love You More
    4. Living Inside Your Love
    5. Gonna Make Changes
    6. Answer Is You, The
    7. Loving You, Losing You
    8. We Both Need Each Other - (featuring Phyllis Hyman & Michael Henderson)
    9. We Should Be Lovers
    10. You Know How to Love Me
    11. Under Your Spell
    12. Give a Little More
    13. In a Sentimental Mood - (from "The Original Broadway Cast Recording Of 'SOPHISTICATED LADIES'")
    14. Somewhere in My Lifetime
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Can't We Fall in Love Again - (Duet with Michael Henderson)
    2. Don't Tell Me, Tell Her
    3. I Ain't Asking
    4. Tonight You and Me - (Disco Version)
    5. Let Somebody Love You
    6. When I Give My Love (This Time)
    7. Why Did You Turn Me On
    8. Just Me and You
    9. Falling Star
    10. Living in Confusion
    11. I Don't Want to Lose You
    12. Sunshine in My Life, The
    13. Old Friend
    14. Living All Alone
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 18938

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Phyllis Hyman (vocals, whistle); Michael Henderson (vocals, bass); Gary Betz (tenor saxophone, saxophone); Greg Scott, Cater Jefferson (saxophone); Barry Lee Hall, John Longo (trumpet, flugelhorn); Joseph Smithers (trumpet); Mark Johnson (trombone); Sidney Muldrow (French horn); Art Webb (flute); Herbie Hancock, Paul Schaefer, Barry Manilow, Bill Summers (piano, keyboards, synthesizers); Keith Loving, Craig Snyder, Louis Russell, Lee Ritenour, John Rowin (guitars); Bob Babbitt, Steve Green, Nathan East, Randy Jackson (bass); Charles Collins, Richard Pratt, Narada Michael Walden, Quinton Joseph (drums); Rocky White, Charles Simmons, Eddie Brown, Casey James (percussion); Al Martinez, Sharon Redd (background vocals).
    Producers include: Larry Alexander, Skip Scarborough, Thom Bell, Chuck Jackson, Skip Drinkwater.
    Compilation producer: Leo Sacks
    Recorded between 1977 & 1991. Includes liner notes by Clayton Riley.
    There have been numerous attempts at summarizing Phyllis Hyman's career on one disc. Most have been severely flawed, whether it has come down to missing hit singles or poor selection of album cuts. And while Hyman didn't have that many chart hits (at least when compared to several of her contemporaries), there has always been the need for a double-disc compilation that goes deeper -- allowing space for all the major singles and album cuts that deserve more attention. The Legacy of Phyllis Hyman fills that void. Although it might be a little too much for the person who just wants the songs heard on the radio, it's the next best thing to having all of her studio albums (all of which are spotty in varying degrees).~ Andy Kellman

  • Critic Reviews
    Vibe (2/97, p.103) - "...a bittersweet compilation of some of Hyman's best material....Hyman sang as though her listeners were wrapped in sable and drinking vintage champagne..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.33
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for