CD The Legendary Prestige Quintet Sessions [Box Set] [Box] (CD 187064),
back to browsing

The Legendary Prestige Quintet Sessions [Box Set] [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Stablemates
    2. How Am I to Know
    3. Just Squeeze Me
    4. There Is No Greater Love
    5. Theme, The
    6. S'Posin
    7. In Your Own Sweet Way
    8. Diane
    9. Trane's Blues
    10. Something I Dreamed Last Night
    0. DISC 2:
    1. It Could Happen to You
    2. Woody'n You
    3. Ahmad's Blues
    4. Surrey With the Fringe on Top
    5. It Never Entered My Mind
    6. When I Fall in Love
    7. Theme, The
    8. S'Posin
    9. Theme, The
    10. Theme, The
    11. If I Were a Bell
    12. Well, You Needn't
    0. DISC 3:
    1. 'Round Midnight
    2. Half Nelson
    3. You're My Everything
    4. I Could Write a Book
    5. Oleo
    6. Airegin
    7. Tune Up
    8. When Lights Are Low
    9. Blues by Five
    10. My Funny Valentine
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Steve Allen Intro
    2. Max Is Making Wax (A.K.A. Chance It)
    3. Steve Allen Intro 2
    4. It Never Entered My Mind
    5. Tune Up
    6. Walkin'
    7. Four
    8. Bye Bye Blackbird
    9. Walkin'
    10. Two Bass Hit
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4444

  • Credits
    ProducerOrrin Keepnews

    Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet); John Coltrane (tenor saxophone); Red Garland (piano); Paul Chambers (double bass); Philly Joe Jones (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Bob Blumenthal.
    THE LEGENDARY PRESTIGE QUINTET SESSIONS is a four-disc box set that collects all the work Miles Davis recorded for Prestige with his classic first quintet (featuring John Coltrane on sax, Paul Chambers on bass, Philly Joe Jones on drums, and Red Garland on piano). The lyrical, complex, and endlessly listenable music these five men created together stands as a high watermark of not only the post-bop period but of American music in the 20th century.
    Miles fans will likely own the lion's share of this material on albums like WORKIN', RELAXIN', and COOKIN', among others, but those who don't will find a universe of musical treasures here. What makes the set especially exciting is the fourth disc, which contains previously unreleased radio and television appearances, and enhanced features offering transcriptions of solo sections. Add to this the elegant longbox and an extensive booklet packed with notes and photos, and you've got a superb package for any jazz fan.

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (p.73) - "[I]rreplaceable music whose magic is utterly manifest yet elusive of description."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $51.16
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for