CD The New Bossa Nova [600753008737] (CD 1150134),
back to browsing

The New Bossa Nova [600753008737]

  • 1. Down to You
    2. Never Die Young
    3. Here It Is
    4. When We Dance
    5. Satellite
    6. Were You Blind That Day
    7. Love Is For Strangers
    8. You and the Girl
    9. Living Without You
    10. I Can Let Go Now
    11. God Only Knows
    12. Waters of March
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): VERF-015392

  • Credits

    Personnel: Luciana Souza (vocals); Romero Lubambo (cavaquinho); Chris Potter (tenor saxophone); Edward Simon (piano); Matt Moran (vibraphone); Scott Colley (bass guitar); Antonio Sanchz (drums).
    Singer Luciana Souza's blend of Brazilian pop and jazz takes a slightly unusual but very enchanting turn with NEW BOSSA NOVA. Produced by her husband Larry Klein (who's worked with Joni Mitchell and Peter Gabriel), Souza takes on a set of songs almost entirely by pop and rock artists. She lovingly remakes in her own image songs by the Beach Boys ("God Only Knows"), Sting ("When We Dance"), and Randy Newman ("Living Without You"). Special guest James Taylor appears, contributing vocals to his own "Never Die Young." Luciana Souza proves how adaptable bossa nova is to American pop, and vice versa, graciously advancing the form instead of merely preserving it.

  • Critic Reviews
    Down Beat (p.55) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Its gauzy yet brilliant colors bleed in and out of one another and Souza -- who has one of the most flat-out gorgeous voices in jazz -- delivers the story line."
    JazzTimes (p.112) - "There are some terrific tunes here, including Mitchell's 'Down to You', James Taylor's 'Never Die Young' and Brian Wilson's 'God Only Knows'..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.79
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for