CD The Paris Concert [Oscar Peterson] (CD 189561),
back to browsing

The Paris Concert [Oscar Peterson]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
    2. Who Can I Turn To
    3. Benny's Bugle
    4. Soft Winds
    5. Goodbye
    6. Place St. Henri
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Manha De Carnaval / If
    2. Ornithology
    3. Blue Lou
    4. How Long Has This Been Going On
    5. Gentle Tears
    6. Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be)
    7. Samba de Orfeu
    8. Donna Lee
    9. Sweet Georgia Brown
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2620-112

  • Credits
    ProducerNorman Granz

    Personnel: Oscar Peterson (piano); Joe Pass (guitar); Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen (bass).
    Recorded live at Salle Pleyel, Paris, France on October 5, 1978. Includes liner notes by Benny Green.
    Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1993, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
    Pianist Oscar Peterson made so many recordings for Norman Granz's Pablo label (and was so consistent) that while all of his records are recommended, it is difficult to pick out any one as the definitive or essential release. This two-CD set (a straight reissue of the original two-LP release) features Peterson with an all-star trio, a unit comprised of guitarist Joe Pass and bassist Niels Pedersen. Just 16 days later Peterson would record The London Concert with a different trio. This time around he mostly sticks to standards but includes three songs associated with Benny Goodman (including the riff-filled "Benny's Bugle"), features Pass (who contributed his original "Gentle Tears") unaccompanied on "Lover Man" and really romps with his fellow virtuosoes on such numbers as "Ornithology," "Donna Lee" and "Sweet Georgia Brown." ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for