CD Those Were Our Songs: Music of World War II (CD 927607),
back to browsing

Those Were Our Songs: Music of World War II

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I'll Be With You in Apple Blossom Time - The Andrews Sisters
    2. Green Eyes - Helen O'Connell
    3. Who Wouldn't Love You? - Kay Kyser
    4. Jersey Bounce - Benny Goodman & His Orchestra
    5. Cow Cow Boogie - Ella Mae Morse/Freddie Slack
    6. Sleepy Lagoon, A - Harry James & His Orchestra
    7. Strip Polka - Johnny Mercer
    8. I Had the Craziest Dream - Helen Forrest
    9. Jukebox Saturday Night - Tex Beneke
    10. Praise the Lord and Pass the Ammunition - Harry Babbitt/Kay Kyser
    11. Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy - The Andrews Sisters
    12. I've Heard That Song Before - Harry James & His Orchestra
    13. Shoo Shoo Baby - Ella Mae Morse
    14. Amor - Andy Russell
    15. Straighten up and Fly Right - Nat King Cole
    16. Long Ago (And Far Away) - Jo Stafford
    17. G.I. Jive - Johnny Mercer
    18. I'll Walk Alone - Martha Tilton
    19. It Had to Be You - Betty Hutton
    20. Trolley Song, The - The Pied Pipers
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Rum and Coca-Cola - The Andrews Sisters
    2. Candy - Jo Stafford/Johnny Mercer/The Pied Pipers
    3. Sentimental Journey - Les Brown
    4. Dream - The Pied Pipers
    5. Chattanooga Choo Choo - Ray Anthony
    6. Chloe - Spike Jones
    7. On the Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe - Johnny Mercer
    8. Tampico - Stan Kenton & His Orchestra
    9. Waiting for the Train to Come In - Peggy Lee
    10. It's Been a Long, Long Time - Harry James & His Orchestra/Helen Forrest
    11. Doctor, Lawyer, Indian Chief - Betty Hutton
    12. Jingle, Jangle, Jingle - Kay Kyser
    13. Hut-Sut Song, The - Freddy Martin & His Orchestra
    14. Mister Five by Five - Ella Mae Morse/Freddie Slack
    15. It's Only a Paper Moon - Nat King Cole
    16. Do Nothin' 'Til You Hear from Me - Red Dorris/Stan Kenton & His Orchestra
    17. I Love You - Jo Stafford
    18. Mairzy Doats - The Pied Pipers
    19. It Might as Well Be Spring - Dick Haymes
    20. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive - Johnny Mercer/The Pied Pipers
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 35774

  • Credits

    Compilation producers: Pete Welding, Cheryl Pawelski.
    Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
    Digitally remastered by Mark Chalecki (Capitol Mastering).
    Personnel: Harry Babbitt, Helen Forrest, Red Dorris (vocals).
    Audio Remasterer: Mark Chalecki.
    Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
    World War II and big-band pop-era compilations are released almost as regularly as Christmas albums, and the glut has caused more harm than good; it seems any good ones are quickly swallowed up by the racks full of short, ill-advised, uninformative collections. Though any single label could never do justice to the war years, with a little clever licensing the Capitol compilation Those Were Our Songs: Music of World War II transcends its slightly simpy title to deliver 40 great tracks of traditional pop. Most of the standards of the day are included: "Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy" by the Andrews Sisters, "Praise the Lord and Pass the Ammunition" by Kay Kyser, "G.I. Jive" by Johnny Mercer, "Long Ago (And Far Away)" by Jo Stafford, and "Sentimental Journey" by Les Brown (with Doris Day), though there's no Glenn Miller, except for his appearance on "Jukebox Saturday Night" by Tex Beneke. More than any other label, Capitol captured the can-do attitude of America during the early '40s, with a spate of classic songs poised halfway between jump blues and novelty big band, songs like Nat King Cole's "Straighten up and Fly Right," Ella Mae Morse's "Cow-Cow Boogie," Freddy Martin's "The Hut-Sut Song," Benny Goodman's "Jersey Bounce," and the Andrews Sisters' "Rum and Coca-Cola." Add the great liner notes of Will Friedwald and Those Were Our Songs: Music of World War II stands as one of the best -- and easily the best-sounding, courtesy of astonishing 24-bit remastering -- compilations of its era: just this side of definitive, but packed full of great music summoning the sound and feel of a nation at war. ~ John Bush

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.72
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for