CD Tour de Force [Sonny Rollins] (CD 192126),
back to browsing

Tour de Force [Sonny Rollins]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): OJCCD95

  • Credits

    Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Earl Coleman (vocals); Kenny Drew (piano); George Morrow (bass); Max Roach (drums).
    Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey on December 7, 1956. Originally released on Prestige (7126) ("Sonny Boy" was recorded in the same session, but was released previously on the album SONNY BOY (Prestige 7207)). Includes liner notes by Ira Gitler.
    Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1989, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
    This 1956 session was originally comprised of three Sonny Rollins originals and two vocal numbers ("Two Different worlds" and "My Ideal") with guest Earl Coleman joining the accompanying trio of pianist Kenny Drew, bass player George Morrow and drummer Max Roach. The CD reissue adds to the album a wonderful eight minute "Sonny Boy," which is a joy to behold and was clearly only left off the original release because of time constraints. Rollins dazzles throughout with his heartfelt playing which is full of breathtaking, wide-awake life. He loves to roll in the aisle laughing (and always with a rich, muscular sense of humor) and he loves to burn with the passion of a ballad. Additionally, hearing him play off of a human voice shows just how much of the language of emotion he's able to conjure through his tenor saxophone. This is a superlative album by one of the major instrumentalists of this century.

  • Critic Reviews
    Down Beat - 4 Stars - Very Good "Rollins in two moods--galloping and relaxed. As another indication of Rollins' stature, this is recommended."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.39
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for