CD Travels [Pat Metheny Group] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 245854),
back to browsing

Travels [Pat Metheny Group] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Are You Going with Me?
    2. Fields, the Sky, The
    3. Goodbye
    4. Phase Dance
    5. Straight on Red
    6. Farmer's Trust
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Extradition
    2. Going Ahead-As Falls Wichita, So Falls Wichita Falls
    3. Travels
    4. Song for Bilbao
    5. San Lorenzo
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 810622

  • Credits
    ProducerManfred Eicher; Pat Metheny
    EngineerJan Erik Kongshaug; Randy Ezratty

    Pat Metheny Group: Pat Metheny (synthesizer, guitar); Lyle Mays (autoharp, piano, organ, synthesizer); Steve Rodby (synthesizer, acoustic & electric basses); Dan Gottlieb (drums).
    Additional personnel: Nana Vasconcelos (vocals, berimbau, percussion).
    Recorded live in Dallas, Texas; Nacogdoches, Texas; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Hartford, Connecticut; Sacramento, California in July, October and November 1982.
    Personnel: Pat Metheny (guitar, 12-string guitar, classical guitar, guitar synthesizer); Nan Vasconcelos (vocals, berimbau, drums, percussion); Lyle Mays (autoharp, piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer, Synclavier); Steve Rodby (bass synthesizer, acoustic bass, electric bass); Dan Gottlieb (drums, snare drum); Danny Gottlieb (drums).
    Recording information: Dallas, TX (07/19/1982-11/??/1982); Hartford, CT (07/19/1982-11/??/1982); Nacogdoches, TX (07/19/1982-11/??/1982); Philadelphia, PA (07/19/1982-11/??/1982); Sacramento, CA (07/19/1982-11/??/1982).
    Photographers: Milan Horacek; Ron Pownall; Dieter Jahnig; Dieter Rehm.
    A double album that flirts with rock, folk, country and Latin - but is emphatically a jazz album. Metheny is equipped with probably his best ever live group; Steve Rodby, Dan Gottlieb, Nana Vasconcelos, and his right arm, keyboard virtuoso Lyle Mays. The recording exudes warmth, and often improves on tracks already issued on studio albums; for example, 'Phase Dance' is played with more verve and 'Song For Bilbao' sounds more passionate in a live context. The diamond in the mine, however, is the shortest piece - the glorious and delicate title track - worth the price of the album alone.

  • Critic Reviews
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.106) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Metheny used these dates to channel his Brazilian muse, effectively utilising guitar synthesizers to give the group an increasingly electronic, but always innovative and satisfying, arrangement."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $23.07
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for