CD Turnaround [Joanne Brackeen Quartet] (CD 970063),
back to browsing

Turnaround [Joanne Brackeen Quartet]

  • 1. There Is No Greater Love
    2. Rubies and Diamonds
    3. Picasso
    4. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
    5. Turnaround
    6. Tricks of the Trade
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 22123

  • Credits
    ProducerJoanne Brackeen
    EngineerDavid Baker

    Joanne Brackeen Quartet: Joanne Brackeen (piano); Donald Harrison (alto saxophone); Cecil McBee (bass); Marvin "Smitty" Smith (drums).
    Recorded live at Sweet Basil, New York on February 27-28, 1992. Includes liner notes by Jon W. Poses.
    All songs written by Joanne Brackeen except "There Is No Greater Love" (Isham Jones/Marty Symes), "Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered" (Lorenz Hart/Richard Rodgers) and "Turnaround" (Ornette Coleman).
    Personnel: Joanne Brackeen (piano); Donald Harrison (alto saxophone); Marvin "Smitty" Smith (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Jon W. Poses.
    Recording information: Sweet Basil, New York, NY (02/27/1992/02/28/1992).
    Photographer: R. Andrew Lepley.
    The talented and highly original pianist Joanne Brackeen leads an all-star quartet (with altoist Donald Harrison, bassist Cecil McBee and drummer Marvin "Smitty" Smith) at Sweet Basil for this 1992 live session. Brackeen is in top form digging into two standards, Ornette Coleman's "Turnaround" (which is taken as a conventional blues) and three of her originals including a 16-minute "Picasso." The explorative music holds one's interest throughout. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.83
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for