CD Unearth [Digipak] [Jonathan Kreisberg] (CD 1079770),
back to browsing

Unearth [Digipak] [Jonathan Kreisberg]

  • 1. Minor Leaps
    2. Until the Sun Submits
    3. New For Now
    4. Pacific
    5. Microcosm For Two
    6. Hobroken
    7. Peru
    8. Unearth
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): MB-09812CD

  • Credits
    ProducerJonathan Kreisberg
    EngineerAndrew Solin; Joe Ferla; Ted Young

    Personnel: Jonathan Kreisberg (guitars); Scott Wendholt (trumpet); Aaron Goldberg (electric piano); Matt Penman (bass instrument); Anthony Pinciotti (drums).
    An up-and-coming jazz guitarist, Jonathan Kreisberg contributed all eight selections to this program. "Minor Leaps" is a run through the "Giant Steps" chord changes (some of which were altered to minor chords), "Until the Sun Submits" is a lyrical ballad, and "New for Now" is a romp. On "Pacific," Kreisberg's tone sounds a bit like John Scofield although his ideas are original, while on the jazz waltz "Microcosm for Two," he switches effectively to acoustic guitar. "Hobroken" is a 16-bar blues while "Peru" and "Unearth" have complex but logical chord changes and consistently inspired playing. The quintet sounds a bit unusual due to the instrumentation, which has a guitar-trumpet-electric piano front line. Trumpeter Scott Wendholt and keyboardist Aaron Goldberg are strong assets on the set while bassist Matt Penman and drummer Anthony Pincotti play their supportive roles well. ~ Scott Yanow

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (p.94) - "[W]ith plenty of fast-paced, chops-testing material as well as more pensive, balladic fare. Everyone plays with brilliance..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.53
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for