CD Voice of Silence (CD 844129),
back to browsing

Voice of Silence

  • 1. Prologue
    2. Tempus / Pop Art
    3. Voice of Silence, The
    4. Forest, The
    5. Authenticity
    6. Snapshots
    7. Those Who Build
    8. Joy
    9. Epilogue
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 104

  • Credits

    Personnel: Palle Mikkelborg (conductor); Danish Radio Jazz Orchestra.
    Producers: Neils Erik Lund, Ole Matthiessen, Palle Mikkelborg.
    Recorded at Studio 3, Broadcast House, Copenhagen, Denmark in March & April 2000. Includes liner notes by Valdemar Lonsted.
    Mikkelborg's first large-ensemble work since 1984's Aura is a nine-movement suite composed in honor of the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art. (The museum is located not in the Bayou State, but in Humlebaek, Denmark.) Conducting the Danish Radio Jazz Orchestra, Mikkelborg pays homage to a number of visual artists and art movements and leans heavily toward the electric side of the jazz spectrum. Veering between minimalist soundscapes like "Prologue" and "The Voice of Silence" and funk/fusion blowouts like "Tempus/Pop Art" and "The Forest," Mikkelborg sets up a dichotomy that is quite jarring at first. "Authenticity," a dreamy movement featuring the unaccompanied bass of Thomas Ovesen, opens up new dimensions -- a process that continues with the agitated, "Birdland"-style groove of "Snapshots," the vaguely old-world sound of "Those Who Build," and the jazzy waltz of "Joy." ~ David R. Adler

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $16.85
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for