CD Vol. 1: The Early Years 1930-1934 [Box] (CD 1057974),
back to browsing

Vol. 1: The Early Years 1930-1934 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Gotta Darn Good Reason Now (For Bein' Good)
    2. St. Louis Blues
    3. Sweet Jennie Lee
    4. Happy Feet
    5. Yaller
    6. Viper's Drag, The
    7. Is That Religion?
    8. Some of These Days
    9. Nobody's Sweetheart
    10. St. James Infirmary
    11. Dixie Vegabond
    12. So Sweet
    13. Minnie the Moocher
    14. Doin' the Rumba
    15. Mood Indigo
    16. Farewell Blues
    17. I'm Crazy 'Bout My Baby
    18. Creole Love Song (Creole Love Call)
    19. Levee Low-Down, The
    20. Blues in My Heart
    21. My Honey's Lovin Arms
    22. Nightmare, The
    23. It Looks Like Susie
    24. Sweet Georgia Brown
    25. Basin Street Blues
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Black Rhythm
    2. Six or Seven Times
    3. Bugle Call Rag
    4. You Rascal, You
    5. Stardust
    6. You Can't Stop Me from Lovin' You
    7. You Dog
    8. Somebody Stole My Gal
    9. Ain't Got No Gal in This Town
    10. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
    11. Trickeration
    12. Kickin' the Gong Around
    13. Downhearted Blues
    14. Without Rhythm
    15. Corrine, Corrina
    16. Stack O' Lee Blues
    17. Scat Song, The
    18. Cabin in the Cotton
    19. Strictly Cullud Affair, A
    20. Aw You Dawg
    21. Minnie the Moocher's Wedding Day
    22. Dinah
    23. How Come You Do Me Like You Do?
    24. Old Yazoo
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Angeline
    2. I'm Now Prepared to Tell the World It's You
    3. Swanee Lullaby
    4. Reefer Man
    5. Old Man of the Mountain, The
    6. You Gotta Ho-De-Ho (To Get Along with Me)
    7. Strange as It Seems
    8. This Time It's Love
    9. Git Along
    10. Hot Toddy
    11. I've Got the World on a String
    12. Harlem Holiday
    13. Dixie Doorway
    14. Wah-Dee-Dah
    15. Sweet Rhythm
    16. Beale Street Mama
    17. That's What I Hate About Love
    18. Man from Harlem, The
    19. I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
    20. My Sunday Gal
    21. Eadie Was a Lady
    22. Gotta Go Places and Do Things
    23. Hot Water
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Evenin'
    2. Harlem Hospitality
    3. Lady with the Fan, The
    4. Harlem Camp Meeting
    5. Zaz Zuh Zaz
    6. Father's Got His Glasses On
    7. Minnie the Moocher
    8. Scat Song
    9. Kickin' the Gong Around
    10. There's a Cabin in the Cotton
    11. I Learned About Love from Her
    12. Little Town Girl
    13. 'Long About Midnight
    14. Moon Glow
    15. Jitter Bug
    16. Hotcha Razz-Ma-Tazz
    17. Margie
    18. Emaline
    19. Chinese Rhythm
    20. Moonlight Rhapsody
    21. Avalon
    22. Weakness
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 908

  • Credits

    Personnel: Cab Calloway (vocals); Benny Payne (vocals, piano, celesta); Chick Bullock (vocals); Morris White (guitar, banjo); Roy Smeck (guitar); Eddie Barefield (flute, clarinet, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Walter Thomas (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Arville Harris, William Thornton Blue (clarinet, alto saxophone); Doc Cheatham, Edwin Swayzee, Lammar Wright, Sr., R.Q. Dickerson, Reuben Reeves (trumpet); De Priest Wheeler, Harry White (trombone); Earres Prince (piano); Leroy Maxey (drums).
    Audio Remasterer: John R.T. Davies.
    Liner Note Author: Sally-Ann Worsfold.
    Recording information: Chicago, IL (07/24/1930-09/04/1934); New York, NY (07/24/1930-09/04/1934).
    Director: Cab Calloway.
    This excellent collection presents Cab Calloway at the very beginning of his career. All the hallmarks of Calloway's style are here: his rakish wit, his precise, elastic singing, and his irrepressible exuberance. Whereas the age of these recordings might discourage some listeners (due to the potentially poor sound quality), VOLUME ONE: THE EARLY YEARS boasts superior restoration and remastering that help these sides from the early 1930s truly sparkle.
    The set list includes Calloway originals like "Aw You Dog" and the first recording of the Cabman's signature tune, "Minnie the Moocher," as well as spirited versions of classics like "St. Louis Blues" and "Basin Street Blues." As a bandleader, Calloway was notoriously strict, and his group from this era is as talented, tight, and swinging as any in his career. With a stunning 94 tracks, there is plenty of music to appreciate, and the top-quality sound restoration makes it impossible not to do so.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.85
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for