CD Dream [Kitaro] (CD 938579),
back to browsing

Dream [Kitaro]

  • 1. Symphony of the Forest
    2. Mysterious Island
    3. Lady of Dreams
    4. Drop of Silence, A
    5. Passage of Life, A
    6. Agreement
    7. Dream of Chant
    8. Magical Wave
    9. Symphony of Dreams
    10. Island of Life
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 482802

  • Credits
    EngineerGary Barlough; Norikazu Komada

    Personnel: Kitaro (synthesizer); Jon Anderson, Jonathan Goldman (vocals); Hiroshi Araki, Jimmy Hahn (guitar); Kristin Stordahl Kanda (flute); Shigeru Okazawa (electric bass); Steve Bailey (bass); Syoji Fijii (drums); T.Y. Burhos (tabla); Ken Park (percussion); Deborah Anderson (background vocals); Coral Symphony Strings.
    Kitaro has always shown a flair for the dramatic with his serious synthesizer opuses, but on DREAM, he lets loose with a hitherto unexpressed romanticism, couched in showy orchestral arrangements and ecstatic love ballads. Added to the mix is Jon Anderson, whose vocals and lyrics take center stage on about half of the songs on this highly theatrical album.
    Kitaro's showstopper, "Lady of Dreams," marries a memorable accordion-laced cabaret melody with spectacular symphonic flourishes. Steve Bailey's fretless bass drives the tuneful "Agreement," which sounds like a FRAGILE-era Yes. In keeping with the aggressively entertaining songs, even "Dream of Chant"--a drone for vocals, tabla, and harmonium--is less a peaceful meditation than a tense mood piece punctuated by violent percussion. DREAM culminates in the exhilarating "Island of Life," which begins as a sweet synth lullaby, and builds to an ecstatic crescendo of passionate singing and crystalline strings.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.19
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for