CD 1961-1990: A Complete Career Anthology (CD 899270),
back to browsing

1961-1990: A Complete Career Anthology

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Runaway
    2. Hats Off to Larry
    3. So Long Baby
    4. Hey Little Girl
    5. Cry Myself to Sleep
    6. You Never Talked About Me
    7. Jody
    8. Swiss Maid, The
    9. Ginny in the Mirror
    10. Little Town Flirt
    11. Two Kinds of Teardrops
    12. From Me to You
    13. Two Silhouettes
    14. She's Gotta Be Mine
    15. That's the Way Love Is
    16. Handy Man
    17. Mary Jane
    18. Keep Searchin' (We'll Follow the Sun)
    19. Stranger in Town
    20. Break Up
    21. Why Don't You Tell Him
    22. Move It on Over
    23. I Go to Pieces
    24. Under My Thumb
    25. Show Me
    26. Letter, The
    27. Runaway '67
    28. Cut and Come Again
    29. Friendly With You
    30. Led Along
    31. Mind over Matter
    32. Thinkin' It Over
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Gemini
    2. Sister Isabelle
    3. Kelly - (live)
    4. Distant Ghost
    5. Deadly Game
    6. Help Me
    7. Oh How Happy
    8. And the Music Plays On
    9. Tell Her No
    10. Cry Baby Cry
    11. Restless
    12. Sea of Love
    13. Drop Down and Get Me
    14. To Love Someone
    15. Cheap Love
    16. Broken Down Angel
    17. Something to Believe In
    18. Hot Love
    19. Walk Away
    20. Callin' Out My Name
    21. Who Left Who?
    22. Runaway
    23. Crying - (live)
    24. Do You Want to Dance? - (live)
    25. Pepsi Spot
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 51

  • Credits
    EngineerJoe Chiccarelli

    Music legend Del Shannon crafts some rockin' tunes on this career retrospective, which spans the years 1961-1990. Many of the tracks included are rare recordings that have been unearthed especially for this compilation.
    Audio Mixer: Joe Chiccarelli.
    Recording information: 1961-1990.
    To most casual listeners, Del Shannon was a one-hit (or, at best, two-hit) wonder. This two-CD anthology goes a long way toward correcting that inaccurate perception, covering virtually every high point in a career that, admittedly with some ups and downs, yielded some great and popular music across nearly 30 years. Every phase of the late singer/composer/guitarist's career is represented, and though "Runaway is usually the only song associated with Shannon, this collection reveals many other sides to his work and sound, from the romantic Shannon original "Jody" to the defiant Pomus-Shuman song "Ginny in the Mirror."
    The really good part about this set is that a lot of the songs appear here in their rare stereo mixes. With most classic rock & roll, that would not necessarily be a virtue, stereo being superfluous as well as harmful to its impact, but in Shannon's case it is -- his records usually featured very busy, complex instrumental parts (an attribute that he shared in common with the Beatles and a lot of other British invasion acts) that can be discerned much more easily in the stereo versions. All of the bases are covered right up through his work in the late '60s with Andrew "Loog" Oldham and into the 1970s and 1980s obscurities. His version of the Zombies' hit "Tell Her No" (cut for Island Records in the mid-'70s) and the Dave Edmunds-produced "And the Music Plays On" are represented, along with the results of his collaboration with Tom Petty and his comeback with the early-'80s NBC television series Crime Story (which returned "Runaway," used as the show's title theme, to the charts). As is usual with Raven Records, the annotation is extremely thorough and the mastering is impeccable. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $33.57
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for