CD A Groovy Kind of Love: The Complete LP's & Singles 1966-1968 (CD 6289550),
back to browsing

A Groovy Kind of Love: The Complete LP's & Singles 1966-1968

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Groovy Kind of Love, A
    2. Love Is Good
    3. Can't Live with You, Can't Live Without You
    4. One Fine Day
    5. Way You Do the Things You Do, The
    6. Just a Little Bit
    7. Seventh Son, The
    8. Tricky Dicky
    9. Little Nightingale
    10. Don't Cry No More
    11. You Don't Know About Love
    12. Rockin' Jaybee
    13. All Night Worker
    14. Ashes to Ashes
    15. I Want Her, She Wants Me
    16. Morning After, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. We'll Talk About It Tomorrow
    2. Far Across Town
    3. To Be or Not to Be
    4. Honey and Wine
    5. Schoolgirl
    6. Little Piece of Leather, A
    7. Shotgun
    8. Mystery Train
    9. Homework
    10. Airport People
    11. Cool Jerk
    12. Off and Running
    13. It's Getting Harder All the Time
    14. Letter, The
    15. My New Day and Age
    16. Schoolgirl [45 Version]
    17. Coming Back
    18. Blessed Are the Lonely
    19. Yellow Brick Road
    20. Uncle Joe the Ice Cream Man
    21. Man Who Loved Trees, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2959865

  • Credits
    ProducerMark Stratford (Compilation); Stefan Granados (Compilation)

    Audio Remasterer: Srt.
    Liner Note Author: Stefan Granados.
    The Mindbenders in their post-Wayne Fontana configuration were a hot little British pub trio specializing in a kind of jazzy rock similar in a lot of ways to the Zombies or Traffic, and they amount to one of the great lost groups of the 1960s. Although they had two strong songwriters in Eric Stewart and Graham Gouldman (together they would go on to form one half of 10cc), the Mindbenders were also one hell of a cover band, and their recorded legacy is surprisingly diverse because of it. This two-disc, 37-track set, which collects the two LPs, six EPs, and ten singles the group released between 1966 and 1968, is a revelation in that regard -- it includes imaginatively done garage soul covers of "Shotgun," "Mystery Train," and "The Seventh Son" alongside the pipe dream psychedelia of "Yellow Brick Road" and the hazy sunshine pop of "A Groovy Kind of Love," and as a flip side, the lustful B-movie feel of "Schoolgirl," which appears here in two versions, of which the original single version is best. It's an impressively wide palette, and the Mindbenders were clearly more -- way more -- than just Wayne Fontana's backup band for a time -- they're a wonderful buried treasure, and this delightful collection does a great job of showing why. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $29.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for