CD Anthology [John Hiatt] [CD] [1 disc] (CD 988308),
back to browsing

Anthology [John Hiatt] [CD] [1 disc]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Sure as I'm Sittin' Here
    2. Hangin' Around the Observatory
    3. Down Home
    4. Washable Ink
    5. Slug Line
    6. Radio Girl
    7. Pink Bedroom
    8. It Hasn't Happened Yet
    9. Spy Boy
    10. Doll Hospital
    11. My Edge of the Razor
    12. Riding With the King
    13. She Loves the Jerk
    14. I Don't Even Try
    15. Love That Harms, The
    16. Way We Make a Broken Heart, The
    17. When We Ran
    18. Usual, The
    19. She Said the Same Things to Me
    20. Lipstick Sunset
    21. Thank You Girl
    22. Have a Little Faith in Me
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Memphis in the Meantime
    2. Thing Called Love
    3. Tennessee Plates
    4. Slow Turning
    5. Drive South
    6. Feels Like Rain
    7. Paper Thin
    8. Child of the Wild Blue Yonder
    9. Real Fine Love
    10. Perfectly Good Guitar
    11. Buffalo River Home
    12. Angel Eyes
    13. Cry Love
    14. Shredding the Document
    15. Don't Think About Her When You Are Trying to Drive
    16. Pirate Radio
    17. Crossing Muddy Waters
    18. Take It Down
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 556134

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: John Hiatt (vocals, guitar); Roseanne Cash (vocals); Little Village.
    Producers include: Glen Spreen, Denny Bruce, John Chelew, Glyn Johns, Matt Wallace.
    Compilation producer: Mike Rogogna.
    Tracks recorded between 1974 and 2000. Includes liner notes by Scott Shinder.
    Digitally remastered by Erik Labson (Universal Mastering Studios West, North Hollywood, California).
    Personnel: Rosanne Cash (vocals).
    Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
    Photographers: Mark Seliger; Jim McGuire ; Ebet Roberts; Henry Diltz.
    While there are a couple of other John Hiatt collections on the market, ANTHOLOGY gets the edge not only because it offers the greatest amount of material (it's the only two-disc set), but because it's the only cross-licensed one. That means it draws from all the labels Hiatt's recorded for and covers the entire length of his career. Consequently, we get his quirky, somewhat Randy Newmanish mid-'70s beginnings ("Hangin' Around the Observatory"), his lean, mean, American Elvis Costello rocker phase ("Slug Line," "Doll Hospital"), and the heartfelt Americana of his critically lauded BRING THE FAMILY album ("Lipstick Sunset," "Have a Little Faith in Me"). Hiatt didn't stop moving after that, though. Disc two gets into his latter-day work, when he'd broken through sufficiently to afford bigger production but still kept an eye on the knockout punch ("Feels Like Rain," "Real Fine Love"). Providing sonic continuity throughout are Hiatt's inimitable sandpaper soul voice and deceptively casual, offhandedly precise songcraft.

  • Critic Reviews
    No Depression (11-12/01, p.115) - "...The best of John Hiatt is well and truly represented on this collection..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.18
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for