CD Best of the Spencer Davis Group [EMI 1987] (CD 558753),
back to browsing

Best of the Spencer Davis Group [EMI 1987]

  • 1. Gimme Some Lovin'
    2. Searchin'
    3. Keep on Running
    4. I Can't Stand It
    5. Strong Love
    6. Every Little Bit Hurts
    7. I'm a Man
    8. Back into My Life Again
    9. Trampoline
    10. Somebody Help Me
    11. When I Come Home
    12. Stevie's Blues
    13. This Hammer (The Hammer Song)
    14. Waltz for Lumumba
    15. Goodbye Stevie
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 46598

  • Credits
    ProducerChris Blackwell; Jimmy Miller

    Spencer Davis Group includes: Spencer Davis (drums); Steve Winwood (vocals, keyboards); Muff Winwood (bass).
    Personnel: Steve Winwood (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Muff Winwood, Spencer Davis (vocals, guitar); Pete York (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Alan Warner.
    Say what you will about Traffic, Blind Faith, and his ongoing solo career, but when Steve Winwood leaves this earth, the song every radio and TV station will play in his memory will be "Gimme Some Lovin'." And for good reason: this single is a stone classic, the best two-and-a-half minutes British R&B ever produced, and yes, that includes the early singles by the Rolling Stones.
    The amazing thing was not that this skinny, spotty 16-year-old from the Midlands sounded just like Ray Charles, but that Winwood and his mates nearly matched the potency of that single not once, but twice, with the stunning "I'm A Man" and the ska-inflected burner "Keep On Runnin'." All three singles are the highlights of this 15-song compilation, which features b-sides, rarities, and solid album tracks alongside all of the group's magnificent mid '60s singles.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.20
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for