CD Complete Sun Singles, Vol. 4 [Box] (CD 1062687),
back to browsing

Complete Sun Singles, Vol. 4 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. You're Just My Kind - Will Mercer
    2. Ballad of St. Marks - Will Mercer
    3. Little Queenie - Jerry Lee Lewis
    4. I Could Never Be Ashamed of You - Jerry Lee Lewis
    5. You Tell Me - Johnny Cash
    6. Goodbye Little Darlin' - Johnny Cash
    7. What a Life - Jimmy Isle
    8. Together - Jimmy Isle
    9. Alice Blue Gown - Ray Anthony
    10. St. Louis Blues - Ray Anthony
    11. Straight A's in Love - Johnny Cash
    12. I Love You Because - Johnny Cash
    13. Thousand Guitars, A - Tracy Pendarvis
    14. Is It Too Late - Tracy Pendarvis
    15. Walkin' and Talkin' - Mack Owen
    16. Somebody Just Like You - Mack Owen
    17. Old Black Joe - Jerry Lee Lewis
    18. Baby Baby Bye Bye - Jerry Lee Lewis
    19. Legend of the Big Steeple, The - Paul Richey
    20. Broken Hearted Willie - Paul Richey
    21. Whose Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet - Rayburn Anthony
    22. There's No Tomorrow - Rayburn Anthony
    23. Bobaloo - Bill Johnson
    24. Bad Times Ahead - Bill Johnson
    25. I'm Gonna Take a Walk - Sonny Wilson
    26. Great Pretender, The - Sonny Wilson
    0. DISC 2:
    1. You Burned the Bridges - Bobbie Jean
    2. Cheaters Never Win - Bobboe Jean
    3. Story of a Broken Heart, The - Johnny Cash
    4. Down the Street to 301 - Johnny Cash
    5. John Henry - Jerry Lee Lewis
    6. Hang up My Rock and Roll Shoes - Jerry Lee Lewis
    7. Is It Me - Tracy Pendarvis
    8. South Bound Line - Tracy Pendarvis
    9. Guess I'd Better Go - Texas Bill Strength
    10. Senorita - Texas Bill Strength
    11. Mean Eyed Cat - Johnny Cash
    12. Port of Lonely Hearts - Johnny Cash
    13. Good Guy Always Wins, The - Lance Roberts
    14. Time Is Right, The - Lance Roberts
    15. I Gotta Know - Tony Rossini
    16. Is It Too Late - Tony Rossini
    17. Rockin'-Lang-Syne - Rockin' Stockin'
    18. Yuleville U.S.A. - Rockin' Stockin'
    19. You Don't Love Me Anymore - Ira Jay II
    20. More Than Anything - Ira Jay II
    21. When I Get Paid - Jerry Lee Lewis
    22. Love Made a Fool of Me - Jerry Lee Lewis
    23. Sweet and Easy to Love - Roy Orbison
    24. Devil Doll - Roy Orbison
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Sad News - Bobby Sheridan
    2. Red Man - Bobby Sheridan
    3. Oh Lonesome Me - Johnny Cash
    4. Life Goes On - Johnny Cash
    5. What'd I Say - Jerry Lee Lewis
    6. Livin' Lovin' Wreck - Jerry Lee Lewis
    7. U.T. Party (Part 1) - George Klein
    8. U.T. Party (Part 2) - George Klein
    9. Belle of the Suwannee - Tracy Pendarvis
    10. Eternally - Tracy Pendarvis
    11. Groovy Train - Wade Cagle
    12. Highland Rock - Wade Cagle
    13. I'll Wait Forever - Anita Wood
    14. I Can't Show How I Feel - Anita Wood
    15. I'll Stick by You - Harold Kenneth Dorman
    16. There They Go - Harold Kenneth Dorman
    17. Sugartime - Johnny Cash
    18. My Treasure - Johnny Cash
    19. Cold Cold Heart - Jerry Lee Lewis
    20. It Won't Happen With Me - Jerry Lee Lewis
    21. I Forgot to Remember to Forget - Shirley Sisk
    22. Other Side - Shirley Sisk
    23. Well I Ask Ya - Tony Rossini
    24. Darlena - Tony Rossini
    0. DISC 4:
    1. As Long as I Live - Jerry Lee Lewis
    2. Save the Last Dance For Me - Jerry Lee Lewis
    3. Since I Met You - Don Hosea
    4. Uh Huh Unh - Don Hosea
    5. Everybody's Searching - Bobby Wood
    6. Human Emotions - Bobby Wood
    7. Uncle Jonah's Place - Harold Kenneth Dorman
    8. Just One Step - Harold Kenneth Dorman
    9. Money - Jerry Lee Lewis
    10. Bonnie B. - Jerry Lee Lewis
    11. Travlin' Salesman - Ray Smith
    12. I Won't Miss You - Ray Smith
    13. How Well I Know - Rayburn Anthony
    14. Big Dream - Rayburn Anthony
    15. I've Been Twistin' - Jerry Lee Lewis
    16. Ramblin' Rose - Ray Smith
    17. Candy Doll - Ray Smith
    18. Hey, Boss Man - Ray Smith
    19. Blue Train - Johnny Cash
    20. Born to Lose - Johnny Cash
    21. In the Beginning - Harold Kenneth Dorman
    22. Wait 'Til Saturday Night - Harold Kenneth Dorman
    23. After School - Tony Rossini
    24. Just Around the Corner - Tony Rossini
    25. Sweet Little Sixteen - Jerry Lee Lewis
    26. How's My Ex Treating You - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 15804

  • Credits

    By the time the singles on this four-disc set were released (1959 into 1962), Sun was a much different label than the one that discovered Elvis Presley just a few years earlier. Presley, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins and Roy Orbison had moved to other labels, and Jerry Lee Lewis was in the middle of trying to reassemble the pieces of his career. Label owner Sam Phillips was in the midst of leaving his fabled 706 Union Memphis Recording Service for a new studio across town, never again finding the warm intimacy that graced his early recorded efforts. The label also pursued trends that seemed to be selling at that moment, and largely gone was that anarchic spirit that made all the early Sun issues so legendary. But there was still a pronounced regional flavor and inherent sound to a Sun record -- even the ones cut in Nashville during this period -- that emerged from the grooves, no matter how much the original master tape was embalmed in chirping female choruses and syrupy strings. Disc one sports more than a few classic sides -- including Rayburn Anthony's "Alice Blue Gown" and Tracy Pendarvis' double-sided blast from Sun's past, "A Thousand Guitars"/"Is It Too Late" -- amid the commercial dross. There were other stray nods to Sun's rockin' past with Sonny Wilson's "The Great Pretender" (sporting one of the most confused guitar breaks ever released on the label) and "I'm Gonna Take a Walk," but perhaps even more interesting was the continual mining of the vaults for more Johnny Cash sides. Disc two follows this pattern, with a pair of Jerry Lee Lewis 45s and Cash singles standing alongside Tracy Pendarvis' "Is It Me" as musical high points, but these were severely undercut by the issuance of pop-inspired crossover material. Disc three kicks off with a major surprise, a two-sided Charlie Rich instrumental issued under the name Bobby Sheridan. More Cash material from the vaults is aboard, along with Jerry Lee's back-to-the-charts hit, "What'd I Say." The final disc illustrates what a hit record did to Jerry Lee's stock at the label, as Sun issued one single after another in its wake, scoring another hit with "Money" alongside "Sweet Little Sixteen," the last Sun chart entry. Harold Dorman's "Uncle Jonah's Place," Johnny Cash's "Blue Train" and Don Hosea's "Uh Huh Huh" (actually Willie Cobb's "You Don't Love Me") complete the list of listenable items on this set. Sun was nearing the end of the line as well as changing its musical direction, but there was still great stuff to be found in their release schedule, and this box nicely collects it all up in one place. ~ Cub Koda

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for