CD Down the Line: Rarities [Digipak] (CD 4331318),
back to browsing

Down the Line: Rarities [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. My Two-Timin' Woman
    2. Footprints In The Snow
    3. Flower Of My Heart
    4. Door To My Heart
    5. Soft Place In My Heart
    6. Gotta Get You Near Me Blues
    7. I Gambled My Heart
    8. You And I Are Through
    9. Down The Line
    10. Baby, Let's Play House
    11. Moonlight Baby AKA Baby,Won't You Come Out Tonight
    12. I Guess I Was Just A Fool
    13. Don't Come Back Knockin'
    14. Love Me
    15. Gone
    16. Gone - (Alternate Take) (alternate take)
    17. Have You Ever Been Lonely
    18. Have You Ever Been Lonely - (Alternate Take) (alternate take)
    19. Brown-Eyed Handsome Man
    20. Good Rockin' Tonight
    21. Rip It Up
    22. Blue Monday
    23. Honky Tonk
    24. Blue Suede Shoes
    25. Shake Rattle And Roll (Partial)
    26. Bo Diddley
    27. Ain't Got No Home
    28. Holly Hop
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Last Night (Undubbed)
    2. Not Fade Away (Alternate Overdub)
    3. Peggy Sue (Alternate Take) - (alternate take)
    4. Oh Boy (Undubbed)
    5. That's My Desire (Two False Starts Plus Undubbed Master)
    6. Take Your Time (False Start & Partially Undubbed Take)
    7. Fool's Paradise (Alternate Take Undubbed) - (alternate take)
    8. Fool's Paradise (Undubbed Master)
    9. Fool's Paradise (Alternate #2 Undubbed) - (alternate take)
    10. Think It Over (False Start & Rehearsal Take)
    11. Think It Over (Undubbed Alternate)
    12. Think It Over (Undubbed Master)
    13. Love's Made A Fool of You (Undubbed)
    14. That'll Be The Day (Greetings To Bob Thiele)
    15. That'll Be The Day (Greetings To Murray Deutsch)
    16. That's What They Say (W/Fragment)
    17. What To Do
    18. Peggy Sue Got Married
    19. That Makes It Tough
    20. Crying, Waiting, Hoping
    21. Learning The Game
    22. Wait 'Till The Sun Shines Nellie
    23. Slippin' And Slidin' (Slow Version #1)
    24. Slippin' And Slidin' (Slow Version #2)
    25. Slippin' And Slidin' (Fast Version)
    26. Buddy & Maria Elena Talking In An Apartment
    27. Dearest (Fragment)
    28. Dearest
    29. Untitled Instrumental AKA Buddy's Guitar/Listed As "Tremolo Instrumental")
    30. Love Is Strange
    31. Smokey Joe's Caf
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): BOO1167502

  • Credits
    ProducerMilton DeLugg; Norman Petty; Milton DeLugg; Norman Petty; Andy McKaie (Compilation)

    Personnel: Buddy Holly (vocals, guitar); Bob Montgomery (vocals, guitar); Sonny Curtis (guitar, fiddle); Donald Amone, Al Caiola, Tommy Allsup (guitar); Don Guess (steel guitar, bass guitar); Norman Petty (piano); George Atwood, Joe Mauldin, Larry Welborn (bass guitar); Jerry Allison (drums, background vocals); Bob "Crow" Clarke (drums); Merrill Ostrus, William Marine, Robert Harter, Robert Bollinger, Abby Hoffer, Niki Sullivan (background vocals).
    Audio Remasterer: Erick Labson.
    Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
    Released to coincide with the 50th anniversary of his death, the revealing 59-track, two-disc DOWN THE LINE: THE RARITIES offers a glimpse of the man and the recordings behind the Buddy Holly legend. While not for newcomers, members of Holly's not insubstantial cult will find a treasure trove of obscure and previously unreleased gems, highlighted by recordings of Holly and classmate Bob Montgomery, the Crickets' "Garage Tapes" cut in the Holly family's garage in late 1956, and the legendary "Apartment Tapes," the last recording made by Holly before his death--all in virgin, un-dubbed form. The set also includes outtakes and alternate versions of better known Crickets' cuts, all of which offer an insightful glimpse into Buddy Holly at work in the studio.

  • Critic Reviews
    Paste (magazine) (p.68) - "[T]wo discs of material for fanatics and scholars -- from a home recording of a Hank Snow song, laid to tape before Holly's voice had changed, to the entire Buddy & Bob oeuvre and recordings of The Crickets' from the Hollys' garage."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.85) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] solid stabs at Louvin Brothers harmonies on 'Door To My Heart,' 'Footprints In The Snow' and sundry other country staples....Its downhome charm is limitless."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.38
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for