CD Earth Angel: The Cool Sounds of West Coast Doo Wop 1954-1960 * (CD 15816265),
back to browsing

Earth Angel: The Cool Sounds of West Coast Doo Wop 1954-1960 *

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. No There Ain't No News Today
    2. Hey Senorita
    3. Earth Angel [1955] [Dootone Version]
    4. Love Will Make Your Mind Go Wild
    5. Ookey Ook
    6. Baby Let's Make Some Love
    7. Kiss a Fool Goodbye
    8. I Ain't Gonna Cry No More
    9. Don't Do It
    10. Be Mine or Be a Fool
    11. It Only Happens With You
    12. Walkin' Down Broadway
    13. Devil That I See
    14. Promises Promises Promises
    15. Jingle Jangle
    16. Christmas Prayer, A
    17. My Troubles Are Not At an End
    18. She's Gone Gone
    19. Dealer of Dreams
    20. Peace of Mind
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Earth Angel [1956] [Mercury Version]
    2. Ice
    3. Cool Baby Cool
    4. Will You Be Mine
    5. Sound of Your Voice, The
    6. Pledge of Love
    7. I Knew I'd Fall In Love
    8. Do Not Pretend
    9. If You're Mine
    10. Cold Heart
    11. Want Me
    12. Sweet Love
    13. Let Me Make Up Your Mind
    14. Money Talks
    15. Lover or Fool
    16. Butterball
    17. Heart of a Fool
    18. Be My Loving Baby
    19. That's How Much I Need You
    20. You're an Angel
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): JASCD 176

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Bob Fisher.
    The Penguins' one big hit, "Earth Angel," is the archetypal street corner doo wop hit of all time, and while the West Coast group, led by the solid lead vocals of Cleve Duncan, never really seriously broke into the charts again before disbanding in 1959, they left behind a pretty solid legacy in just under six years. This two-disc set tells the whole story, beginning with the Penguins' first singles for Dootsie Williams' Dootone Records imprint, including the original version of "Earth Angel" from 1954, along with other singles from Mercury Records (including a second version of "Earth Angel" from 1956 that adds a probably unnecessary glockenspiel) and Atlantic Records (a lone single, 1957's "Pledge of Love"), and then takes things back to Dootone for three more late singles and the Dootone LP The Cool, Cool Penguins from 1958, the whole of which is also collected here. The end result is a wonderful, multi-label history of this influential west coast doo wop outfit. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.16
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for