CD Hammersmith Odeon, London '75 (CD 1073120),
back to browsing

Hammersmith Odeon, London '75

  • 1. Thunder Road
    2. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
    3. Spirit in the Night
    4. Lost in the Flood
    5. She's the One
    6. Born to Run
    7. E Street Shuffle, The
    8. It's Hard to Be a Saint in the City
    9. Backstreets
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Kitty's Back
    2. Jungleland
    3. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
    4. 4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
    5. Detroit Medley
    6. For You
    7. Quarter to Three
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 77995

  • Credits
    ProducerThom Zimny
    EngineerDave Fromberg

    Personnel: Bruce Springsteen (vocals, guitar); Roy Bittan (vocals, piano); Clarence Clemons (saxophone, percussion); Danny Federici (keyboards); Garry Tallent (bass guitar); Max Weinberg (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Bob Clearmountain.
    Liner Note Author: Bruce Springsteen.
    Recording information: Hammersmith Odeon, London, England (1975).
    Editor: Thom Zimny.
    This excellent two-disc concert set captures Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band performing in London for the first time in 1975. Recorded just after the release of BORN TO RUN--which would ensure the Boss's place on the rock-&-roll map for all eternity--the HAMMERSMITH ODEON concert represents a young band bursting with ambition, attitude, and energy, and ripping through a set with the hunger that has rightfully conferred legendary status upon Springsteen concerts.
    From the spare opening version of "Thunder Road" to the rollicking "Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)," Bruce is in fine form here, and his band--shifting between soulful R&B, jazzy explorations, and spit-fire rock--plays like a monster. In fact, there is a ragged leanness to the band's style that would begin to ebb some years later, and while Springsteen's backing ensembles have remained powerful and ferocious up into the 2000s, there is something pure and beautiful about this particular group. As such, it is a genuine must-have for any rock-&-roll fan.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.122) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "The likes of 'Spirit In The Night' and 'It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City' offer vivid insights into the road that Springsteen and his band had travelled."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.126) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "The E Streeters' operatic showband bombast reached a watershed during this period..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.03
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for