CD Lost Decade (CD 4671512),
back to browsing

Lost Decade

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Bangkok
    2. Can't Seem to Make You Mine
    3. Walking Dead
    4. Take Me Home & Make Me Like It
    5. Free Again
    6. Come on Honey
    7. I Can Dig It
    8. Just to See You
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Toe Jam
    2. Special Friend
    3. How Long
    4. Bus Trip
    5. Torso Tourinado
    6. Games
    7. Trouble
    8. Mojo Man

    Code: QZZQ

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 308748

  • Credits
    ProducerAlex Chilton
    EngineerPhilip Chapman

    Personnel: Alex Chilton (vocals, various instruments, guitar, background vocals); Scott Adams, Danny Jones (vocals); Larry Davis (various instruments); Michael Elliot, Paul Cannon (guitar); Jim Dickinson, Terry Manning (piano); Chris Merrick, Richard Rosebrough, Robert Jackson (drums); Chris Stamey (maracas).
    Audio Mixer: John Fry .
    Liner Note Author: Florent Mazzoleni.
    Recording information: Ardent Recordings, Memphis (??/1969-12/1977); Big Apple Studios, NY (??/1969-12/1977); Olympia Studios, London, England (??/1969-12/1977).
    Photographer: Alain Duplantier.
    Lost Decade is a document of recordings Alex Chilton made during the 1970s as both solo performer and producer. "The Artist" half features the brilliantly sloppy "Bangkok"/"Can't Seem to Make You Mine" single, a couple of outtakes from the chaotic Bach's Bottom period, and four songs from a post-Box Tops, pre-Big Star session. Three of these early solo tunes later turned up on 1970, but were subsequently re-mixed. Only a diehard would notice the difference, but then who else would search out this collection? The majority (if not all) of the other tracks have since re-appeared on various (and less expensive) Chilton releases over the years. "The Producer" portion features rare recordings produced by the artist, in which he often lent a hand instrumentally as well as vocally. The unremarkable blues- and country-flavored numbers will do little to satisfy the faithful (though the rockin' bluegrass of Grady Whitebread's "Bus Trip" does have its moments), but the side devoted to Scott Adams will fascinate, as it foreshadows the producer's own loose solo material. Chilton seems to have been particularly influenced by Adams' vocal style, and the desperate honesty in lines like "the trouble is nobody cares" would find a home on the then work-in-progress, Third/Sister Lovers. ~ Bart Bealmear

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for