CD Malt Shop Memories [Box Set] [Long Box] (CD 1311386),
back to browsing

Malt Shop Memories [Box Set] [Long Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Big Girls Don't Cry - Frankie Valli & the Four Seasons
    2. Stand by Me - Ben E. King
    3. Dream Lover - Bobby Darin
    4. Save the Last Dance for Me - The Drifters
    5. You Belong to Me - The Duprees
    6. Chapel of Love - The Dixie-Cups
    7. Lover's Question, A - Clyde McPhatter
    8. This Magic Moment - The Drifters
    9. Sherry - Frankie Valli & the Four Seasons
    10. Leader of the Pack - The Shangri-Las
    11. Hello Stranger - Barbara Lewis
    12. On Broadway - The Drifters
    13. Why Do Fools Fall in Love - Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers
    14. Since I Met You Baby - Ivory Joe Hunter
    15. Just One Look - Doris Payne
    16. There Goes My Baby - The Drifters
    17. 16 Candles - The Crests
    18. Tears on My Pillow - Little Anthony & the Imperials
    0. DISC 2:
    1. It's My Party - Lesley Gore
    2. Heat Wave - Martha & the Vandellas
    3. Come See About Me - The Supremes
    4. Girl's Alright with Me, The - The Temptations
    5. Twilight Time - The Platters
    6. Will You Love Me Tomorrow - The Shirelles
    7. Please Mr. Postman - The Marvelettes
    8. Two Lovers - Mary Wells
    9. You've Really Got a Hold on Me - The Miracles
    10. Dancing in the Street - Martha & the Vandellas
    11. Baby Love - The Supremes
    12. Where the Boys Are - Connie Francis
    13. Don't Mess with Bill - The Marvelettes
    14. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' - The Righteous Brothers
    15. My Guy - Mary Wells
    16. My Boyfriend's Back - The Angels
    17. 1-2-3 - Len Barry
    18. Little Darlin' - The Diamonds
    0. DISC 3:
    1. I Get Around - The Beach Boys
    2. One Fine Day - The Chiffons
    3. Teenager in Love, A - Dion & the Belmonts
    4. Our Day Will Come - Ruby & the Romantics
    5. Come Softly to Me - The Fleetwoods
    6. Take Good Care of My Baby - Bobby Vee
    7. Runaround Sue - Dion
    8. Little Old Lady, The (From Pasadena) - Jan & Dean
    9. Help Me, Rhonda - The Beach Boys
    10. Since I Don't Have You - The Skyliners
    11. Little Bit of Soap, A - The Jarmels
    12. He's So Fine - The Chiffons
    13. G.T.O. - Ronny & the Daytonas
    14. California Girls - The Beach Boys
    15. Surf City - Jan & Dean
    16. Bobby's Girl - Marcie Blane
    17. Mockingbird - Inez Foxx/Charlie Foxx
    18. I Wonder Why - Dion & the Belmonts
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Lover's Concerto, A - The Toys
    2. Boy from New York City, The - The Ad Libs
    3. Breaking Up Is Hard to Do - Neil Sedaka
    4. It's All in the Game - Tommy Edwards
    5. Are You Lonesome Tonight? - Elvis Presley
    6. Lion Sleeps Tonight, The (Wimoweh) - The Tokens
    7. I Will Follow Him - Little Peggy March
    8. Hey Little Cobra - The Rip Chords
    9. Thousand Stars, A - Kathy Young & the Innocents
    10. Stay - Maurice Williams & the Zodiacs
    11. Love Is Strange - Mickey & Sylvia
    12. Come a Little Bit Closer - Jay & the Americans
    13. Personality - Lloyd Price
    14. For Your Precious Love - Jerry Butler & the Impressions
    15. Downtown - Petula Clark
    16. I'm Sorry - Brenda Lee
    17. Baby, It's You - The Shirelles
    18. Love Me Tender - Elvis Presley
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 19555

  • Credits
    ProducerAlan Rubens (Compilation)

    Liner Note Authors: Fred Bronson; Bobby Rydell.
    If anything, it was the late 20th century rise of the shopping mall that killed off malt shops, at least as a place where teenagers hung out, met and practiced social skills, enacted adolescent drama, fell in love for perhaps the first time, and -- most of all -- played music on the jukebox. These days, of course, teenagers congregate in the malls, hanging in food courts, walking around, mingling, and doing pretty much the same social enactments, but now the music is piped in and it just isn't the same; there isn't that shared sense of choice. And even the jukeboxes, if you can find one, are different, too. Now they're connected to the Net and you download your play with the whole history of pop music at your disposal, with the eras, decades, fads, phases, and styles all merging into one huge musical buffet in which the existential "now" can be any time at all. What's lost, at least musically, is the present as a singular moment in time. But for a time in the late '50s and early '60s, before all those sprawling, enticing malls, there were malt shops that gave teens a place to, well, be teenagers. This four-disc set from Time Life re-creates the feel of those lost days, and it's a wonderful time capsule, featuring classic songs like the Four Seasons' "Big Girls Don't Cry" and "Sherry," Ben E. King's immortal "Stand by Me," the Drifters' "There Goes My Baby," Connie Francis' oddly haunting and melancholy "Where the Boys Are," the Righteous Brothers' grand emotional epic "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'," the Beach Boys' "I Get Around" and "California Girls," Little Peggy March's forlorn and dedicated "I Will Follow Him," and some lesser gems like the Rip Chords' "Hey Little Cobra" and the Diamonds' "Little Darlin'." The only thing missing is the tactile experience of punching the buttons on one of those big old beautiful jukeboxes and that timeless moment when the needle drops and life resumes with a song both familiar and new, one that belongs to a specific place and time. All that is gone these days. It's all times at once now in a blended cacophony of songs, but if the so-called malt shop days weren't really simpler (life and love being constants and never really simple), they were at least a clear moment in time. Nothing stays forever. It's pure physics that makes that impossible. But this wonderful box set preserves the illusion that yes, we can still go back, if only for the length of a song or two. That bit of time travel, folks, is a delightful kind of magic. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $43.07
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for