CD Motown Number 1's [602498614723] (CD 860823),
back to browsing

Motown Number 1's [602498614723]

  • 0. MOTOWN #1'S:
    1. Intro
    2. Please Mr. Postman - The Marvelettes
    3. Heat Wave, (Love Is Like A) - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
    4. My Guy - Mary Wells
    5. My Girl - The Temptations
    6. Where Did Our Love Go - The Supremes
    7. Stop! In the Name of Love - The Supremes
    8. Shotgun - Junior Walker & the All-Stars
    9. I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch) - The Four Tops
    10. Uptight (Everything's Alright) - Stevie Wonder
    11. Ain't Too Proud to Beg - The Temptations
    12. Reach Out, I'll Be There - The Four Tops
    13. Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing - Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell
    14. I Heard It Through the Grapevine - Marvin Gaye
    15. I Want You Back - The Jackson 5
    16. War - Edwin Starr
    17. Tears of a Clown, The - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles
    18. What's Going On - Marvin Gaye
    19. Let's Get It On - Marvin Gaye
    20. Love Machine (Pt. 1) - The Miracles
    21. Don't Leave Me This Way - Thelma Houston
    22. Three Times a Lady - The Commodores
    23. Endless Love - Diana Ross/Lionel Richie
    24. Rhythm of the Night - DeBarge
    25. I'll Make Love to You - Boyz II Men
    26. Ain't No Mountain High Enough - Michael McDonald (bonus track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0001781

  • Credits

    Compilation producers: Jeff Moskow, Harry Weinger.
    Includes liner notes by Adam White.
    Few record labels in history have had the impact of Berry Gordy's Motown. It's a sound, a spirit, and a hit-making machine. In the 1960s, if the Number One song on the Billboard charts wasn't by the Beatles or the Rolling Stones, it was likely by the Temptations, the Supremes, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, or another Motown artist. Wonder, Gaye, Lionel Richie, and others continued the tradition through the '70s and into the '80s, Boyz II Men dominated the charts in the early '90s, and as the 21st century dawned, the Motown name was still a formidable force in R&B and soul.
    With more than two dozen tracks, MOTOWN #1'S collects a remarkable cross-section of the biggest hits that the label unleashed over the course of nearly 50 years. These include the Temptations' harmony-laden "My Girl," the Supremes' dramatic "Stop! In the Name of Love," and the Four Tops' kinetic, sunny "I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)." Also featured is the unbridled soul energy of Jr. Walker & the All-Stars' "Shotgun" and the Marvin Gaye's haunting milestone "I Heard It Through the Grapevine." As many times as these songs have been heard, they still sound unbelievably fresh and beautiful.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $6.42
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for