CD Oh! Suzy-Q [8436028694938] (CD 6987699),
back to browsing

Oh! Suzy-Q [8436028694938]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 263374

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Dale Hawkins (vocals, guitar); Roy Buchanan, Scotty Moore, James Burton, Kenny Paulsen, Cecil Adams (guitar); Lafayette Leake (piano); Willie Dixon (bass); The Moonglows, Al Duncan.
    Includes liner notes by Cub Koda.
    Eighteen tracks from Hawkins' Chess prime, all but one from the late '50s. Includes "Susie Q" and some obscure rockabilly cuts that are nearly as good, such as "Don't Treat Me This Way," "Liza Jane," and "Ain't That Lovin' You Babe." James Burton, Roy Buchanan, and Scotty Moore are the most prominent of the excellent guitarists to be heard on these sides. One could quibble over the absence of "Mrs. Mergitory's Daughter," "Yea Yea (Class Cutter)," and the post-Chess single "Stay at Home Lulu," but this is definitely the best Hawkins compilation ever assembled. ~ Richie Unterberger

  • Critic Reviews
    Musician (3/96, p.94) - "...a perfect example of primal rockabilly that understood the black music it mined..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.36
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for