CD Piece Of Cake (Expanded & Remastered) (CD 1221344),
back to browsing

Piece Of Cake (Expanded & Remastered)

  • 1. No End in Sight
    2. Make It Now
    3. When in Rome
    4. Suck You Dry
    5. Blinding Sun
    6. Thirteenth Floor Opening
    7. Youth Body Expression Explosion
    8. I'm Spun
    9. Take Me There
    10. Living Wreck
    11. Let Me Let You Down
    12. Ritzville
    13. Acetone
    14. Over the Top (Bonus Track)
    15. King Sandbox (Bonus Track)
    16. Baby O Baby (Bonus Track)
    17. In the Blood (Bonus Track)
    18. No Song III (Bonus Track)
    19. Between Me & You Kid (Bonus Track)
    20. Six Two One (Bonus Track)
    21. Make It Now Again (Bonus Track)
    22. Deception Pass (Bonus Track)
    23. Underide (Bonus Track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 5046658772

  • Credits

    Mudhoney: Mark Arm (vocals, guitar, slide guitar, piano, organ); Steve Turner (vocals, guitar, banjo, harmonica, keyboard bass); Matt Lukin (vocals, bass); Dan Peters (vocals, marimba, drums).
    Additional personnel: Conrad Uno, Emily Bishton, Scott McCaughey, Tad Hutchison, Bob Whittaker, Steve Turner, Matt Lukin (background vocals).
    Recorded at Egg Studios, Seattle, Washington.
    PIECE OF CAKE contains 4 un-named tracks of varying lengths (25-39 seconds).
    With record labels flocking to Seattle to sign the next big thing after such groups as Nirvana and Pearl Jam hit it big, several of the area's older independent acts were finally signed too, such as the Melvins (who had moved away from Seattle) and Mudhoney. The band's 1992 PIECE OF CAKE was much ballyhooed in the press as the album that would put these beloved garage rockers over the top.
    While it didn't prove to be the huge smash everyone predicted, it was nearly impossible to not hear Mudhoney's name connected to the genre's big names every time they were mentioned on TV or in the press. PIECE OF CAKE shows the band sticking closely to its original direction on such tracks as "No End in Sight," "When in Rome," and "Suck You Dry," with the amps cranked up to eleven, and Mark Arm's lyrics dripping with sarcasm.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (12/92, p.68) - Ranked #11 in Spin's list of the `20 Best Albums Of The Year' - "...the Mud boys dip into their groundbreaking bag of tricks, getting all loud and nasty with 17 songs of pure chewing satisfaction..."
    Spin (11/92, p.117) - Highly Recommended - "...These 17 tracks combine not only trademark Arm yowling, Turner guitar-terrorism, Lukin bassmanship, and Peters drum-arama, but there are silly in-studio samples as well....retains credibility without losing any of the humor..."
    Q (10/03, p.131) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...It's their finest and most wide-ranging album. It rattles along merrily..."
    Option (Jan/Feb 93, p.103) - "...pure, unadulterated Mudhoney. Okay, mebbe a bit cleaned up...just means mall rats'll be having a bit of honey with their Nirvana `n' Chili Peppers..."
    Reflex (12/15/92, p.71) - "...packs a primal, sludgy punch that aims way beyond the average rock themes..."
    NME (Magazine) (10/10/92, p.39) - 7 - Good - "...there's still enough cut and thrust to enjoy and thrill along to....a glorious slab of grunge ....a record to be cranked up loud..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for