CD Rockin' Daddy [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 1062681),
back to browsing

Rockin' Daddy [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Double Duty Lovin'
    2. Talking Off the Wall
    3. Love Makes a Fool (Everyday)
    4. Your Eyes
    5. I Got a Woman
    6. Rockin' Daddy
    7. Slip, Slip Slippin' In
    8. Baby, Baby, Baby (What Am I Gonna Do)
    9. Flip, Flop Mama
    10. Boppin' Bonnie
    11. You're Part of Me
    12. King on Your Throne
    13. They Say We're Too Young
    14. Backslidin'
    15. Love, Love, Love
    16. Lovin' You, Lovin' You
    17. Hershey Bar
    18. One Step Close to You
    19. Show Me (Without Sax)
    20. Broke My Guitar
    21. This Old Heart of Mine
    22. Show Me (With Sax)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. One More Memory
    2. I Can't Quit
    3. My Bucket's Got a Hole in It
    4. Back Home in Indiana - (TRUE instrumental)
    5. They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
    6. Day I Found You, The
    7. Standing in the Window
    8. Back Street Affair
    9. Our Secret Rendezvous
    10. Your Eyes
    11. Double Duty Lovin'
    12. I'd Just Be Fool Enough
    13. You Nearly Lose Your Mind
    14. I Thought I Heard You Call My Name
    15. Big Boss Man
    16. Rockin' Daddy
    17. In My Solitude
    18. Most of All I Want to See Jesus
    19. Where Could I Go But to the Lord
    20. Satisfied
    21. When They Ring Those Golden Bells
    22. If We Never Meet Again
    23. Will I Be Lost or Will I Be Saved
    24. Just a Closer Walk With Thee
    25. Pass Me Not, Oh Gentle Saviour
    26. I Saw the Light
    27. Letter to God
    28. Precious Memories
    29. Hallelujah Way
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 15708

  • Credits

    Contains 51 tracks recorded for Ekko, Mercury, Sun and Philips.
    Rockin' Daddy presents two discs of Eddie Bond's complete recordings from 1955 through 1962. The first disc includes Bond's ten classic rockabilly numbers surrounded by his early country sides, and makes a great extended album, capturing both sides of his work in the first flourish of his youth. But it's the second disc, which covers Bond's 1962-vintage recordings released by Sun, that is the surprise. This should be the less interesting and important disc, because he's slowed down as a maturing artist in his late twenties, and is doing an album's worth of gospel numbers -- but the music is as exciting as the earlier stuff, in a different way. His performances of the religious songs ("Just a Closer Walk With Thee," "Will I Be Lost or Will I Be Saved," etc.) are surprisingly straightforward and non-melodramatic, making it all exceptionally appealing when compared with the overwhelming seriousness of most country religious songs of the era. He does the most driving (really hard-rocking) version of "I Saw the Light" that anyone has ever heard, one that gets the listener not only wanting to sing along but tap his foot as well. Equally important, the playing on these numbers is as fresh as his best stuff from the '50s, only a little slower, which is why his remake of "Rockin' Daddy" is pretty cool, if not the groundbreaking effort that the 1956 version was. There are also surprises in the instrumentation throughout -- the late-'50s country stuff on disc one features some of the best, most understated saxophone you'll ever hear on a country session, and organist Jimmy Smith, playing on the religious stuff, manages to be both reverent and lively. Cool all the way through. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for