CD Super Lungs: The Complete Studio Recordings (CD 938912),
back to browsing

Super Lungs: The Complete Studio Recordings

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. It's Gonna Be Morning - (previously unreleased, mono)
    2. I'll Take Good Care of You - (previously unreleased, mono)
    3. Funny How Time Slips Away - (previously unreleased, mono)
    4. Just Walk in My Shoes - (previously unreleased, mono)
    5. Hand Don't Fit the Glove, The - (mono)
    6. This Time - (mono)
    7. Better by Far - (mono)
    8. Fire's Alive - (mono)
    9. Bang, Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)
    10. Tinker Taylor
    11. Erica
    12. Without Expression
    13. Sweater
    14. Something's Gotten Hold of My Heart
    15. Season of the Witch
    16. Writing on the Wall - Summertime Blues
    17. When I Get Home
    18. Loving Time
    19. Without Expression (2003 Mix) - (remix)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Superlungs My Supergirl
    2. Silver White Light
    3. July
    4. Marking Time
    5. Stay with Me Baby
    6. Highway 61 Revisited/Friends/Highway 61 Revisited
    7. May Fly
    8. Speak Now or Forever Hold Your Peace
    9. Rich Kid Blues
    10. Highway 61 Revisited (2003 Mix) - (remix)
    11. Funny How Time Slips Away [First 'Demo' Version] - (previously unreleased, mono)
    12. I'll Take Good Care of You [First 'Demo' Version] - (previously unreleased, mono)
    13. Ain't That Peculiar - (previously unreleased)
    14. I've Got News for You - (previously unreleased)
    15. Summer Sequence - (previously unreleased)
    16. Zodiac Blues - (previously unreleased)
    17. Penny - (previously unreleased)
    18. Rich Old Lady - (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 577144

  • Credits
    ProducerMickie Most
    EngineerDave Siddle

    Personnel: Terry Reid (vocals, guitar); Bill Bonham (flute, saxophone, keyboards); Brian Hayward (trumpet); Peter Solley (keyboards); Peter Jay, Keith Webb (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Peter Mew.
    Audio Remasterer: Peter Mew.
    Liner Note Author: Peter Doggett.
    Recording information: Abbey Road Studio 2 (11/17/1966-04/20/1969); De Lane Lea (11/17/1966-04/20/1969); EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England (11/17/1966-04/20/1969).
    Most of the contents of Super Lungs: The Complete Studio Recordings -- most especially the albums Bang, Bang You're Terry Reid and Terry Reid -- will be familiar to the singer's fans, and may dissuade people from picking up this double-CD set. That would be a shame, however, in view of the other material that is here -- starting with his work with Peter Jay & the Jaywalkers, which opens disc one and dates from well before his solo debut, Reid reveals himself as an extraordinarily (jaw-droppingly good, in fact) soul singer, with range, power, charisma, and taste, even on those early sides, and the package is extended into genuinely uncharted territory with a half-dozen newly discovered, newly mixed outtakes from Bang, Bang You're Terry Reid, and two tracks from Reid's first recording session in 1966, "Funny How Time Slips Away" (which is almost worth the price of the double-CD set by itself) and "I'll Take Good Care of You." The sound quality is spot-on perfect, state of the art, the annotation by Peter Doggett is entertaining and informative, and the whole package is some of the best British-spawned soul and R&B that one can find. ~ Bruce Eder

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly - "...Those lungs were super indeed." - Grade: B+
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $26.40
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for