CD The Best of the Spencer Davis Group [Island Masters] (CD 253790),
back to browsing

The Best of the Spencer Davis Group [Island Masters]

  • 1. I'm a Man
    2. Gimme Some Lovin'
    3. Every Little Bit Hurts
    4. This Hammer
    5. Back Into My Life Again
    6. Waltz For Lumumba
    7. Together till the End Of
    8. Keep on Running
    9. Trampoline
    10. When I Come Home
    11. Strong Love
    12. Somebody Help Me
    13. She Put the Hurt in Me
    14. Goodbye Stevie
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 8480922

  • Credits

    Spencer Davis Group includes: Spencer Davis (drums); Steve Winwood (vocals, keyboards); Muff Winwood (bass).
    A collection of 14 tracks by acclaimed British invasion band, Spencer Davis Group, featuring such songs as "Gimme Some Lovin', "Keep on Running," and "I'm a Man."
    Say what you will about Traffic, Blind Faith, and his ongoing solo career, but when Steve Winwood leaves this earth, the song every radio and TV station will play in his memory will be "Gimme Some Lovin'." And for good reason: this single is a stone classic, the best two-and-a-half minutes British R&B ever produced, and yes, that includes the early singles by the Rolling Stones.
    The amazing thing was not that this skinny, spotty 16-year-old from the Midlands sounded just like Ray Charles, but that Winwood and his mates nearly matched the potency of that single not once, but twice, with the stunning "I'm A Man" and the ska-inflected burner "Keep On Runnin'." All three singles are the highlights of this 15-song compilation, which features b-sides, rarities, and solid album tracks alongside all of the group's magnificent mid '60s singles.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.97
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for