CD The Complete Heinz * (CD 4331593),
back to browsing

The Complete Heinz *

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Dreams Do Come True
    2. Been Invited to a Party
    3. Just Like Eddie
    4. Don't You Knock at My Door
    5. Country Boy
    6. Long Tall Jack
    7. You Were There
    8. No Matter What They Say
    9. Please Little Girl
    10. For Loving Me This Way
    11. Questions I Can't Answer
    12. Beating of My Heart
    13. Diggin' My Potatoes
    14. She Ain't Coming Back
    15. Don't Think Twice It's Alright
    16. Big Fat Spider
    17. End of the World
    18. You Make Me Feel So Good
    19. Heart Full of Sorrow
    20. Don't Worry Baby
    21. Movin' In
    22. I'm Not a Bad Guy
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I Get Up in the Morning
    2. Talkin' Like a Man
    3. That Lucky Old Sun
    4. Lonely River
    5. Live It Up
    6. Don't You Understand
    7. When Your Loving Goes Wrong
    8. Tribute to Eddie
    9. Hush-A-Bye
    10. (Sorry) I Ran All the Way Home
    11. Summertime Blues
    12. Don't Keep Pickin' at Me
    13. Cut Across Shorty
    14. Three Steps to Heaven
    15. Come on and Dance
    16. Twenty Flight Rock
    17. Look for a Star
    18. My Dreams
    19. I Remember
    20. Rumble in the Night
    21. Somebody to Love - (live)
    22. I Got a Woman - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4718

  • Credits

    Audio Remasterer: EROC.
    Recording information: The Cavern.
    Photographer: David Wedgbury.
    This double-CD set, with 44 songs recorded by the early- to mid- '60s British pop/rock star Heinz, may seem like overkill, but as it turns out, it's not. Heinz, or Heinz Burt as he was known in the Tornados, was not only a prodigious talent, but a highly consistent recording artist. From the first two tracks here, dating from 1962, to the last one -- a live recording of "I Got a Woman" done in 1965 from the Cavern Club -- the recordings are exciting and interesting, and memorable. Heinz' producer on these sides was the legendary Joe Meek, and his signature attributes -- flashy keyboards and guitar, all very compressed -- can be found on much of it, but unlike a lot of other extended bodies of Meek's recordings, this body of music is highly listenable, track after track. Heinz was a better singer than he usually got credit for being, and he cut superb versions of "Summertime Blues" and "Twenty Flight Rock," and was just as good doing songs that came out of Meek's stable of composers, including Geoff Goddard's "Hush-a-Bye," and his singing makes even lackluster songs such as "(Sorry) I Ran All the Way Home" more interesting than they should be. The annotation is also extremely thorough, not just concerning the songs but also Heinz's career, which was, sadly, cut short by illness in the 1990s. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.09
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for