CD The Decca Stereo Anthology (CD 120875),
back to browsing

The Decca Stereo Anthology

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. It's Alright With Me
    2. She's Not There
    3. You Make Me Feel Good
    4. Summertime
    5. Woman
    6. Leave Me Be
    7. Kind of Girl
    8. Sometimes
    9. I'm Goin' Home
    10. Road Runner
    11. Sticks and Stones
    12. Walking in the Sun
    13. I Don't Want to Know
    14. Tell Her No
    15. What More Can I Do
    16. I Remember When I Loved Her
    17. I Want You Back Again - (alternate take)
    18. Can't Nobody Love You
    19. Way I Feel Inside, The
    20. I Got My Mojo Working
    21. Medley: You've Really Got a Hold on Me/Bring It on Home to Me: You Really Got A Hold On Me / Bring It On Home To Me
    22. I Can't Make up My Mind
    23. Work 'N' Play
    24. I Want You Back Again - (single version)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. She's Coming Home
    2. I Must Move
    3. Just Out of Reach
    4. Remember You - (soundtrack version)
    5. Nothing's Changed
    6. I'll Keep Trying
    7. Don't Go Away
    8. Whenever You're Ready
    9. How We Were Before
    10. I Love You
    11. If It Don't Work Out
    12. I Know She Will
    13. Don't Cry for Me
    14. Remember You - (single version)
    15. Is This the Dream
    16. Indication
    17. I'll Call You Mine
    18. Gotta Get a Hold of Myself
    19. She Does Everything for Me
    20. Goin' Out of My Head
    21. Leave Me Be - (Backing Track/Take 1, backing track)
    22. Work 'N' Play - (take)
    23. Just Out of Reach - (Backing Track/Take 4, backing track)
    24. Whenever You're Ready - (Backing Track/Take 1, backing track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 225

  • Credits
    ProducerKen Jones
    EngineerDerek Varnals; Gus Dudgeon; Adrian Kerridge; Steve Orchard

    The tracks on this collection were remixed in stereo from the original four-track session masters.
    Includes four previously unissued, work-in-progress backing tracks and snippets of studio chatter.
    Recorded between 1964 and 1966.
    All tracks have been 24 bit digitally remastered.
    Personnel: Rod Argent (vocals, harmonica, piano, electric piano, keyboards); Chris White (vocals, bass guitar); Colin Blunstone (vocals, percussion); Paul Atkinson (guitar, acoustic guitar); Ken Jones (piano, percussion); Hugh Grundy (drums, percussion).
    Audio Remixer: Alec Palao.
    Liner Note Author: Alec Palao.
    Recording information: De Lane Lea, Portland Place, London, England; Decca Studio No. 2, West Hampstead, London, England; Lansdowne Studio, London, England.
    Photographers: Phil Smee; Chris Walter; Roger Armstrong.
    There were a bunch of Zombies reissues in the 1990s and early 2000s, including a Zombies box set, Zombie Heaven, that seemed to gather just about everything conceivable recorded by the group. So how exactly does this two-CD, 48-song compilation of their 1964-1966 Decca sessions fit into the pecking order? Well, if you have the box set, it's for the fanatics, since most of these tracks also appear on that box. The crucial difference, though, is that these have been newly remixed for stereo. That's not a trifling distinction, since many of these songs have never been previously available in stereo (though it would have been nice if the otherwise admirably detailed liner notes made it clear which ones fall into that category). And you do get a little bit in the way of extras that haven't been previously available, in the form of backing tracks for "Leave Me Be," "Work n' Play," "Just out of Reach," and "Whenever You're Ready," as well as some bits and pieces of false starts to some of the tracks, though it would take a mighty dedicated Zombies specialist to figure out which such false starts might have previously appeared on other releases. On just two tracks, there's a little bit of 2002 overdubbing that might miff purists -- original Zombies drummer Hugh Grundy put an overdub on "She's Not There" to simulate the drum overdub that was used in the mono mix, as he did with a tambourine for "Is This the Dream." Keep in mind, though, that the mono mixes of those songs are available elsewhere (on Zombie Heaven, for instance, on the same label), so it's not as if any irreparable changes have been enacted. As for the music itself -- something that might get overlooked given the extremely specialized approach of this anthology -- it really is great, in remixed stereo as it is here, or in mono. For audiophiles and obsessives, these do give you the chance to hear this in conscientiously mixed stereo. But even if this is the only Zombies anthology you get, it's an excellent collection on its own terms, including all of their varied and wonderful singles and numerous non-single tracks recorded prior to 1967, showing them as one of the most melodically inventive rock bands ever. Note, however, that it has nothing recorded after 1966, which means there's no "Time of the Season" and nothing from their acclaimed Odessey & Oracle album. ~ Richie Unterberger

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (2/03, p.96) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...The original multi-tracks have given the keyboard textures a lustrous clarity and afforded the three-part harmonies new depth..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.58
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for