CD The Human Orchestra (CD 7018940),
back to browsing

The Human Orchestra

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mr Ghost Goes to Town - The Five Jones Boys
    2. My Walking Stick - Golden Gate Quartet
    3. Oh! Mabel Oh! - Lewis Bronzeville Five
    4. Dixie Rhythm - The Four Blackbirds
    5. Suntan Baby Brown - Norfolk Jazz Quartette
    6. Swingin' at the Cotton Club - The Three Peppers
    7. Minute and Hour Blues - Five Breezes
    8. Kickin' the Gong Around - Roland Smith's Rascals
    9. Jungle Fever - The Mills Brothers
    10. Wah Dee Dah - The Three Keys
    11. Swingin' On the Strings - The Ink Spots
    12. Moonglow - The Mississippi Mud Mashers
    13. Hambone Am Sweet - Four Southern Singers
    14. Za Zu Swing - Five Jinks
    15. Pickin' a Rib - Jones Boys Sing Band
    16. Let the Party Go On - The Cabineers
    17. Fool That I Am
    18. Somebody Stole Gabriels Horn - The Three Keys
    19. Basin Street Blues - The Three Keys
    20. Fit as a Fiddle - The Three Keys
    21. Plummer - Four Blues
    22. Garrett Cooper - Three Sharps And A Flat
    23. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You - Three Sharps And A Flat
    24. Dirt Dishing Daisy - Five Jinks
    25. Just a Jitterbig - Five Breezes
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water - The Cats & the Fiddle
    2. Heebie Jeebies - The Three Keys
    3. That Doggone Dog of Mine - The Three Keys
    4. My Sugar Walks Down the Street
    5. Way Down Yonder in New Orleans - The Charioteers
    6. That's On Jack That's On - The Cats & the Fiddle
    7. It's Sleepy Time in Hawaii - Jones Boys Sing Band
    8. My Buddy Blues - Five Breezes
    9. Return, Gal of Mine - Five Breezes
    10. I Miss You So - The Cats & the Fiddle
    11. I'm Through - Three Sharps And A Flat
    12. Love Grows On the White Oak Tree - The Three Peppers
    13. Somebody Loses, Somebody Wins - The Three Keys
    14. Sweet Louise - The Cabineers
    15. Swinging at the Candy Store - Three Sharps And A Flat
    16. Swing Out Uncle Wilson - The Three Peppers
    17. Jive is Jumpin', The - Four Clefs
    18. I Like Pie, I Like Cake - Four Clefs
    19. Nuts to You - The Cats & the Fiddle
    20. "Murder" He Says - Four Vagabonds
    21. Hit That Jive Jack - Four Vagabonds
    22. Milk Shake Stand - Three Barons
    23. Comin in On a Wing and a Prayer - Four Vagabonds
    24. Rosie the Riveter - Four Vagabonds
    25. Ooh Look a There Ain't She Pretty - The Charioteers
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): JASCD685

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Bob Fisher.
    The Human Orchestra, which featured 16 tracks by pre-rock & roll black vocal groups from the 1930s and 1940s, was originally released as an LP in 1985 by a Swedish label. This two-disc set takes the original 16-track archival collection and adds 34 additional tracks from the same era to come up with a fascinating survey of jump and jive black vocal acts, many of which were capable of approximating an orchestra with their voices. Among the gems here (all recorded between 1932 and 1947) are sides cut by the Mills Brothers, the Ink Spots, the Five Jones Boys, the Four Blackbirds, the Three Keys, and the Four Clefs , among many others, and these exciting and revealing performances clearly prefigure the later street-corner harmonies of the doo wop era. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.53
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for