CD The Wilde Flowers (CD 878740),
back to browsing

The Wilde Flowers

  • 1. Impotence
    2. Those Words They Say
    3. Memories
    4. Don't Try to Change Me
    5. Parchman Farm
    6. Almost Grown
    7. She's Gone
    8. Slow Walkin' Talk
    9. He's Bad for You
    10. It's What I Feel (A Certain Kind)
    11. Memories
    12. Never Leave Me
    13. Time After Time
    14. Just Where I Want
    15. No Game When You Lose
    16. Impotence
    17. Why Do You Care
    18. Pieman Cometh, The
    19. Summer Spirit
    20. She Loves to Hurt
    21. Big Show, The
    22. Memories
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): VP123CD

  • Credits

    Personnel: Robert Wyatt (vocals, trombone, drums, percussion, background vocals); Dave Lawrence (vocals, bass guitar); Kevin Ayers (vocals, background vocals); Graham Flight (vocals); Brian Hopper (guitar, acoustic guitar, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, background vocals); Richard Sinclair (guitar, drums, percussion); John Lawrence, Pye Hastings (guitar); Mike Ratledge (pan flute, organ); Hugh Hopper (bass guitar); Richard Coughlan (drums).
    Recording information: Regent Sound Studios, London, England (03/16/1965-08/06/1969); Sellindge, Kent, England (03/16/1965-08/06/1969); Whistable, Kent, England (03/16/1965-08/06/1969); Wout Steenhuis Studio, Broadstairs, Kent, England (03/16/1965-08/06/1969).
    Twenty-two tracks, recorded between 1965 and 1969 by various aggregations of the band. Some of the fidelity is primitive, and the performances are much more tentative and less virtuosic than what the musicians would tender on their Soft Machine and Caravan records. But the songs are playful and melodic, pushing the boundaries of the British Invasion pop they began with toward something more idiosyncratic and adventurous. Several of the songs, like "Memories" (three versions, considerably different from each other, are included here), ended up in the Soft Machine's early repertoire. Indeed, it's a shame that the Softs didn't record more of them; the chief flaw of these tracks is that the arrangements and instrumental proficiency are underdeveloped, and the Soft Machine could have transformed them into prime stuff. A few of the cuts were recorded in late 1969, and could have easily slotted in on the Wyatt-era Soft Machine albums. Wyatt and Hugh Hopper appear on most of the 22 tracks; to a lesser extent, Kevin Ayers, Pye Hastings, and even Mike Ratledge also pop up. Comes with an excellent booklet of photos and an extensive history by Wilde Flowers guitarist Brian Hopper, brother of Hugh. ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $12.28
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for